eth0 inet address range

Discussions about using Linux guests in VirtualBox.
GeertVc
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Ubuntu 12.04

eth0 inet address range

Post by GeertVc »

Hi,

I'm brand new to VirtualBox. Just installed a Linux Guest (Kubuntu 7.10, Linux kernel 2.6.22-14) on a WinXp (SP2) host.

Installation of the guest OS went fine. After installation, I was looking for the inet address given to eth0 on the guest OS.

I was a bit surprised because of the address: 10.0.2.15

Since all my PC's are behind a router (address 192.168.123.254), I was expecting an address for the guest OS in the range of 192.168.123.xxx (just like all my other PC's are assigned an address in that range).

However, that doesn't seem to be the case.
  • Is this a "normal" address?
  • Why is it not in the range 192.168.123.xxx (as my other PC's are)?
  • Can I modify this address (I can order the DHCP server in the router to assign a certain inet address to a certain MAC address)?
Best rgds,

--Geert
GeertVc

Post by GeertVc »

Hi,

Forgot to mention that I also attached the network adapter to NAT (default, I didn't change anything to the default settings).

Later on, while reading the User's Manual, I "discovered" other attach possibilities, one of them being the Host Interface.

I created a new Host Interface using the VB GUI. After creation, I saw the new Host Interface appearing in the Network Connections overview of XP.

I also followed the advise to "bridge" those two connections (I used VMware before, and there the network was bridged by default and all worked fine), but when the bridging was done, I didn't have any network access any more on my WinXP host. So, I had to delete the bridging to get back my internet connection.

So, I still must miss something.

But let me state my situation:

I have a router which is directly connected to the internet, using an ADSL line.