Tried to access 0x0000000000000000 memery when arch booted

Discussions about using Linux guests in VirtualBox.
Post Reply
PeterWang-dev
Posts: 7
Joined: 28. Jul 2022, 17:24

Tried to access 0x0000000000000000 memery when arch booted

Post by PeterWang-dev »

I was trying to boot ArchLinux via usb ssd drive (arch on removable device) in Virtualbox 6.1.36 on Windows 11 host. After getting into grub and normally boot my arch, error occered, which said that the instruction 0x00007ff9ce774cfb was trying to access memory of 0x0000000000000000, and then vm was forced to exit. I noticed that vm crashed when arch was about to trigger events. Before the update to 6.1.36, everything worked out of the box. Maybe it is a bug?
PeterWang-dev
Posts: 7
Joined: 28. Jul 2022, 17:24

Re: Tried to access 0x0000000000000000 memery when arch booted

Post by PeterWang-dev »

This is the vbox log file.
Attachments
log.zip
Log file
(55.42 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
mpack
Site Moderator
Posts: 39134
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Tried to access 0x0000000000000000 memery when arch booted

Post by mpack »

You are very close to exhausting available host RAM.
00:00:04.294561 Host RAM: 16088MB (15.7GB) total, 8263MB (8.0GB) available
...
00:00:04.607003 RamSize <integer> = 0x0000000200000000 (8 589 934 592, 8 192 MB, 8.0 GB)
00:00:04.607132 VRamSize <integer> = 0x0000000008000000 (134 217 728, 128 MB)
I suggest you cut the RAM allocation to 4096MB.

Any particular reason why the VM needs those 8 cores? Are you aware that this will usually make a VM run slower? The normal allocation would be 2 cores.

But I'm not convinced that the above is the cause of your problem. It looks like a hardening problem, but I don't see an obvious culprit.
fth0
Volunteer
Posts: 5677
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...
Location: Germany

Re: Tried to access 0x0000000000000000 memery when arch booted

Post by fth0 »

PeterWang-dev
Posts: 7
Joined: 28. Jul 2022, 17:24

Re: Tried to access 0x0000000000000000 memery when arch booted

Post by PeterWang-dev »

mpack wrote:You are very close to exhausting available host RAM.
00:00:04.294561 Host RAM: 16088MB (15.7GB) total, 8263MB (8.0GB) available
...
00:00:04.607003 RamSize <integer> = 0x0000000200000000 (8 589 934 592, 8 192 MB, 8.0 GB)
00:00:04.607132 VRamSize <integer> = 0x0000000008000000 (134 217 728, 128 MB)
I suggest you cut the RAM allocation to 4096MB.

Any particular reason why the VM needs those 8 cores? Are you aware that this will usually make a VM run slower? The normal allocation would be 2 cores.

But I'm not convinced that the above is the cause of your problem. It looks like a hardening problem, but I don't see an obvious culprit.
Thanks for your support. The reason to set 8 cores and 8GiB is that I need to complile my nodejs project and runing gitlab to manage my code. So huge mem space and multi cores are required.

By the way, you mentioned that changing the mem size to 4096MiB may solve the problem. You thought that I had no enough memory actually but vm started and then tried to write out of the allocated mem, so everything broke?

Thank you for your quick reply once again!
AndyCot
Posts: 297
Joined: 29. Feb 2020, 03:04

Re: Tried to access 0x0000000000000000 memery when arch booted

Post by AndyCot »

I would setup the Gitlab server on your host and store the data on the host. This way you can get to it from the host or any of the VM's and can back it up to the cloud or USB etc allot easier.

Javascript is an interpreted language and the NodeJS runtime is designed to be a single thread and yes you can violate this and create multi-threaded apps, but then your app will be at the mercy of the libraries you use if they are not multithreaded aware and 99% are not.
Typescript is transpiled into Javascript either at runtime or before hand and it is very quick with the resulting JavaScript is then as per the previous sentence interpreted.

As such I do think 8 cores is an overkill. If you start to use Docker or K8S then the CPU, RAM and HDD size for storage will change.

I used to do Docker dev with multiple containers running javascript with 2CPU's and 2GB and 100GB of HDD with 50Gb used. Now I have a much more powerful machine and use allot more resources, but Docker has advanced and I can use Docker on Windows now. Way back then Docker did not run on Windows and I had to use VB to run Linux to then run docker....
PeterWang-dev
Posts: 7
Joined: 28. Jul 2022, 17:24

Re: Tried to access 0x0000000000000000 memery when arch booted

Post by PeterWang-dev »

AndyCot wrote:I would setup the Gitlab server on your host and store the data on the host. This way you can get to it from the host or any of the VM's and can back it up to the cloud or USB etc allot easier.

Javascript is an interpreted language and the NodeJS runtime is designed to be a single thread and yes you can violate this and create multi-threaded apps, but then your app will be at the mercy of the libraries you use if they are not multithreaded aware and 99% are not.
Typescript is transpiled into Javascript either at runtime or before hand and it is very quick with the resulting JavaScript is then as per the previous sentence interpreted.

As such I do think 8 cores is an overkill. If you start to use Docker or K8S then the CPU, RAM and HDD size for storage will change.

I used to do Docker dev with multiple containers running javascript with 2CPU's and 2GB and 100GB of HDD with 50Gb used. Now I have a much more powerful machine and use allot more resources, but Docker has advanced and I can use Docker on Windows now. Way back then Docker did not run on Windows and I had to use VB to run Linux to then run docker....
Thanks for your advice. Haha, just leave it alone. Frankly, I completely know my workspace is a little weird. As I mentioned, the arch is on a removable ssd. So I usually use my laptop to boot into external arch directly. However I have some work to do with windows, cause some software only have win version. SSD is a little bit small so that I cannot run a big virtual machine inside arch. I finally use virtualbox to boot external arch to get all weird requirement out of box. Just leave my workaroud alone ~^_^~
AndyCot
Posts: 297
Joined: 29. Feb 2020, 03:04

Re: Tried to access 0x0000000000000000 memery when arch booted

Post by AndyCot »

Good luck as you will need it if you do not want to gain knowledge of how other devs work.
fth0
Volunteer
Posts: 5677
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...
Location: Germany

Re: Tried to access 0x0000000000000000 memery when arch booted

Post by fth0 »

This issue should be fixed in the VirtualBox test builds 6.1.39r153816 and newer.
Post Reply