Q: Can I mount shared folder to NAS drive?

Discussions about using Linux guests in VirtualBox.
yoallmyfish

Q: Can I mount shared folder to NAS drive?

Post by yoallmyfish »

Hi all
I'm a linux newbie, just so you know :)

I have a VirtualBox on Windows 10, and have created a Linux Ubuntu guest server.
Inside the Linux guest server I would like to mount a drive with access to my NAS Synology drive, which requires a username and password.

Can that be done, and HOW in that case please?
Much appreciated :)

I have googled quite much on this, but I think all articles I see is not about creatinga mounted drive to a NAS drive.

Best Regards
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Q: Can I mount shared folder to NAS drive?

Post by scottgus1 »

If you use Virtualbox Bridged for the VM's network, then the VM will be on the network same as your other computers, and the VM will have direct network access to the NAS's shared folders. Use Ubuntu's methods to mount the NAS folder over your LAN as if the VM was a real PC.

See Virtualbox Networks: In Pictures: Bridged Adapter
yoallmyfish

Post by yoallmyfish »

Thank you. I guess I'm using "Briged", as I have "just" created a standard VM I think.

But does that article help in how too connect to a NAS folder and also with username and password?
Martin
Volunteer
Primary OS: Fedora other
Guest OSses: XP, Win7, Win10, Linux, OS/2

Post by Martin »

No, because this is a generic Ubuntu / Linux question. VirtualBox has nothing to do with this. ;)
mpack
Site Moderator
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Post by mpack »

yoallmyfish wrote:Thank you. I guess I'm using "Briged", as I have "just" created a standard VM I think.
Bridged is not the default. Best not guess - go check the VM's network settings.