Unable to insert virtual optical disk

Discussions about using Linux guests in VirtualBox.
KashootMyself

Unable to insert virtual optical disk

Post by KashootMyself »

The exact error I got was
"Could not mount the media/drive 'C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox/VBoxGuestAdditions.iso' (VERR_PDM_MEDIA_LOCKED)."

What I want to do is make my virtualbox window bigger.

I am running Ubuntu 20.04 under version 6.1.22 of the virtual machine.
I have a laptop with 8Gb of ram.
I am a complete beginner in Linux, VMs and virtualbox

I have encountered many problems when installing my VM, which may be important to my question.

When I first set up my virtual machine I gave it 10Gb of space and 1Gb of ram, and tried to put it on my C drive which was a big mistake because my C drive didn't have nearly enough space and my laptop started doing weird things. I was genuinely worried I might not be able to fix it. In the end, even though my laptop was barely working, I deleted the virtual box folder and made just enough space for my computer to be working again. I tried to open the installation file again and clicked remove all previous files, while the other option was to restore them. After that I spent some time cleaning my computer, and when I went to install it again, I got an error. The fix for the error was to move the virtualbox folder somewhere else in my computer and I put it on my desktop. It worked out, so I went to install it once again. I partitioned the space myself with 2Gb of ram, 10Gb for ext4 "/", 2Gb for swap, and 4Gb and a bit for "'/home". The machine works incredibly slow. My friend has a lot less space than me and it works fine for him(10Gb space and 1Gb ram).

Then, I wanted to make my virtual machine window bigger, and asked my friend. I went to devices tab and clicked "Insert Guest Additions CD image". Now I have this error and I cannot fix it