Set up a Win 3.x VM with browser

Re: Set up a Win 3.x VM with browser

Postby vbox4me2 » 7. Apr 2009, 21:32

That works until you try to change the video driver... select and hit enter, install screen and we're hanging again.
vbox4me2
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: 21. Nov 2008, 20:27
Location: Rotterdam

Re: Set up a Win 3.x VM with browser

Postby ghr » 8. Apr 2009, 20:10

I just checked the ticket - Ticket #1502 (closed defect: fixed; 2009-01-23 08:23:10 changed by ni81036 ) so it should be ok ??? Given some time I could try but it takes some version swapping here. Which version are you using ? I am 'stuck' (but not unhappy with) 1.5.6 mainly for this reason.
ghr
Volunteer
 
Posts: 335
Joined: 25. May 2007, 22:46
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: DOS, Win3x, Win95, WinXP, Ubuntu, OS/2

Re: Set up a Win 3.x VM with browser

Postby vbox4me2 » 8. Apr 2009, 20:47

I'm at 2.06 but about to testrun 2.2 soon.
vbox4me2
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: 21. Nov 2008, 20:27
Location: Rotterdam

Re: Set up a Win 3.x VM with browser

Postby ghr » 28. Aug 2009, 20:43

Since your question is not related to this topic it deserves its own post.....
ghr
Volunteer
 
Posts: 335
Joined: 25. May 2007, 22:46
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: DOS, Win3x, Win95, WinXP, Ubuntu, OS/2

Re: Set up a Win 3.x VM with browser

Postby mpack » 29. Aug 2009, 14:07

I finally got around to trying my Win 3.1 VM with VBox v3.0.4 - and it seems to work great. It now runs in 386 Enhanced mode with no lockup problems (for me).
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 31672
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Set up a Win 3.x VM with browser

Postby vbox4me2 » 29. Aug 2009, 16:54

What is/was the mayor change for the lockup to be solved? only going to 304 or are there other things?
vbox4me2
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: 21. Nov 2008, 20:27
Location: Rotterdam

Re: Set up a Win 3.x VM with browser

Postby mpack » 29. Aug 2009, 17:22

vbox4me2 wrote:What is/was the major change for the lockup to be solved? only going to 304 or are there other things?

All I did was upgrade to 3.0.4, after which I naturally checked that a few VMs worked. Win 3.1 was last on my list because I expected it to not work, but to my surprise it did. It works fine in both standard (/s) and 386 enhanced modes. I had made no changes to the VM or to my PC (e.g. I did not enable any VTx option in my BIOS). I was previously using v2.1.4.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 31672
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Set up a Win 3.x VM with browser

Postby vbox4me2 » 12. Sep 2009, 22:21

VBox 2.2.4 and wfw 311 works!
vbox4me2
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: 21. Nov 2008, 20:27
Location: Rotterdam

Previous

Return to Windows Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest