Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Discussions about using Mac OS X guests (on Apple hardware) in VirtualBox.

Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Postby Barracuda130 » 9. Aug 2019, 18:26

i get a critical error message when trying to run my virtual machine and it told me to ask on the forum. Can someone please help.
Barracuda130
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 9. Aug 2019, 18:22

Re: Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Postby scottgus1 » 9. Aug 2019, 18:35

If it's a MacOS guest, first, this is Windows Guests, not Mac Guests.

Second, if it is a non--Mac Host, then this would apply: OSX guests on non-Apple hardware, and you'd be dead in the water.

If you do have a Mac host, please post on Mac Guests, and you'll need to post using that forum's Upload Attachment tab a zipped guest log to at least start to troubleshoot.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
 
Posts: 4264
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Postby mpack » 10. Aug 2019, 12:08

Topic moved to OS X guests forum.

Please provide a VM log file. With the VM fully shut down, right click it in the GUI. Select "Show Log" and save "VBox.log" (no other file) to a zip file. Attach the zip here.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29693
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Postby DashingDave » 27. Aug 2019, 00:00

I have the same issue with the "critical error" popup:
popupsmall.png
popupsmall.png (100.56 KiB) Viewed 274 times


I'd created a VM (including .vdi storage) for Yosemite, and Started up the machine; pointed it to the startup disk (10.0.5.iso) created by the InstallApp2ISO GUI application, and after a few seconds, the bearded man appeared with his words of doom.

Here are the VBox.log and .png files:
VBox.log.zip
(65.18 KiB) Downloaded 7 times

VBox.png.zip
(3.08 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
DashingDave
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 4. Sep 2016, 18:18

Re: Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Postby socratis » 27. Aug 2019, 02:15

00:00:31.699366 VRamSize <integer> = 0x0000000001000000 (16 777 216, 16 MB)
Go to the VM Settings » Display » max out the Video Memory to 128 MB.

00:00:31.898316 Audio: Device 'Soundflower (2ch)':
Get rid of the SoundFlower software, it's abandonware and a known culprit.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25232
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Postby DashingDave » 27. Aug 2019, 17:46

  • Uninstalled Soundflower (I'd been using the "current" version that was last updated on GitHub a year ago)
  • Restarted Mac
  • Created new VM w/ vdi
  • Increased VRAM to 128
  • Started VM and directed it to the 10.10.5 image
Same result with bearded yogi. :(
Attachments
VBox.log.zip
(65.06 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
VBox.png.zip
(3.08 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
DashingDave
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 4. Sep 2016, 18:18

Re: Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Postby granada29 » 28. Aug 2019, 00:37

Maybe try changing the machine type to vanilla Mac OS X (64-bit).
I have just had to do that in creating an El Capitan VM after having initially configured it with the El Capitan template
granada29
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 3. Mar 2015, 07:27

Re: Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Postby DashingDave » 29. Aug 2019, 00:03

It took a while to get back to you because I tried that method with the other OS's that weren't working. So far, it's worked on Yosemite & El Capitan but not on either of the Sierras. I've attached some logs here in case someone knows why those won't work.

Following your steps at https://www.whatroute.net/installerapp2iso.html, Mojave's installation froze on me in the final step (after interrupting reboot and removing the .iso from the CD-"drive" in the VM Manager). That log's here in the next post, as I can only put 3 files here, as well.

In all of the following, after creating the VM, I upped the vram to 128 but made no other modifications. They all produce a lot of code and then just stop.
Here's Sierra when using the Sierra setting with the .iso created by InstallApp2Iso:
VBoxSierra.log.zip
(29.38 KiB) Downloaded 2 times

...Sierra when using generic setting (Mac OSX 64-bit):
VBoxSierraGeneric.log.zip
(29.28 KiB) Downloaded 2 times

...and High Sierra using generic
VBoxHighSierra.log.zip
(28.93 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
DashingDave
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 4. Sep 2016, 18:18

Re: Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Postby DashingDave » 29. Aug 2019, 00:04

Mojave log (freezes with "about 16 minutes" remaining):
VBox.log.zip
(29.79 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
DashingDave
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 4. Sep 2016, 18:18

Re: Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Postby granada29 » 29. Aug 2019, 02:51

For my VM's I have
El Capitan - Max OS X (64-bit)
Sierra - macOS 10.12 Sierra (64-bit)
High Sierra - macOS 10.13 High Sierra (64-bit)
Mojave - macOS 10.13 High Sierra (64-bit)
Catalina - macOS 10.13 High Sierra (64-bit)

I always try the specific template and only go to generic if that fails. There is funky stuff going on with the VM machine instructions when you change template and it *may* depend on your actual hardware as to what is going to work. My machine is an iMac 18,3 (mid 2017 i5)
granada29
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 3. Mar 2015, 07:27

Re: Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Postby granada29 » 29. Aug 2019, 02:53

DashingDave wrote:Mojave log (freezes with "about 16 minutes" remaining):
VBox.log.zip

Could you please open a new thread for this - it's a little off-topic for this thread.
Thanks
granada29
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 3. Mar 2015, 07:27

Re: Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Postby DashingDave » 29. Aug 2019, 17:06

granada29 wrote:For my VM's I have
Sierra - macOS 10.12 Sierra (64-bit)
High Sierra - macOS 10.13 High Sierra (64-bit)

I tried those to start with, but they stopped in the same code locations that the generic 64 template did. They display a bunch of code but stall and never get to the Mac-install screen.
DashingDave
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 4. Sep 2016, 18:18

Re: Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Postby socratis » 1. Sep 2019, 11:00

00:00:20.934274 DMI Product Name: iMac18,3
Your iMac18,3 came with a minimum OSX version of 10.12.4 or 10.12.5. The installers for 10.10, 10.11, 10.12 will have a hard time understanding what's going on, since they're tied to pre-determined models, and iMac18,3 is not on the list. With the VM shutdown, issue the following command:

    VBoxManage modifyvm "Virtual Yosemite" --cpu-profile "Intel Core i7-6700K"

00:00:21.053555 File system of '/Users/dashingdave/VirtualBox VMs/Virtual Yosemite/HDX10.vdi' is apfs
Why is there a discrepancy between the VM name and the matching VDI?

00:00:21.119105 [/Devices/usb-ehci/] (level 2)
VM Settings » Ports » USB » change that to USB3 (xHCI).

And finally, for a better experience (optional), while the VM is shutdown, issue the commands:

    VBoxManage setextradata "Virtual Yosemite" VBoxInternal2/EfiGopMode "3"
    VBoxManage setextradata "Virtual Yosemite" VBoxInternal2/EfiGraphicsResolution "1280x1024"
    VBoxManage setextradata "Virtual Yosemite" VBoxInternal2/EfiHorizontalResolution "1280"
    VBoxManage setextradata "Virtual Yosemite" VBoxInternal2/EfiVerticalResolution "1024"
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25232
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Postby DashingDave » 4. Sep 2019, 21:43

socratis wrote:
00:00:21.053555 File system of '/Users/dashingdave/VirtualBox VMs/Virtual Yosemite/HDX10.vdi' is apfs
Why is there a discrepancy between the VM name and the matching VDI?

I guess I just have a history of naming my hard drives short names. :D

VBoxManage setextradata "Virtual Yosemite" VBoxInternal2/EfiGopMode "3"
VBoxManage setextradata "Virtual Yosemite" VBoxInternal2/EfiGraphicsResolution "1280x1024"
VBoxManage setextradata "Virtual Yosemite" VBoxInternal2/EfiHorizontalResolution "1280"
VBoxManage setextradata "Virtual Yosemite" VBoxInternal2/EfiVerticalResolution "1024"

Cool! Do these commands work on all Mac OS X guests?
DashingDave
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 4. Sep 2016, 18:18

Re: Virtualbox error when trying to run MacOS

Postby socratis » 4. Sep 2019, 22:14

DashingDave wrote:Cool! Do these commands work on all Mac OS X guests?

These are different options used by different VirtualBox versions, so that when I switch VirtualBox versions I'm pretty much covered with my favorite resolution (1280x1024). I'm changing VirtualBox versions more often than I make coffee, and I'm a caffeine addict! :)

For VirtualBox 6.0.x and higher, the only one you need is actually (H=horizontal, V=vertical):

    VBoxManage setextradata "VM name" VBoxInternal2/EfiGraphicsResolution HxV
For more info, see ch. 3.14.1 Video Modes in EFI. And yes, they work with all OSX guests, from 10.5 to 10.13 that I have...
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25232
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5


Return to Mac OS X Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests