Boot loop on macOS host with OS X guest

Discussions about using Mac OS X guests (on Apple hardware) in VirtualBox.
macpaulek

Boot loop on macOS host with OS X guest

Post by macpaulek »

Hi community,

I am new here even if I have been working with Virtualbox now for several years (but very basic). Now I have run into a problem which I cannot solve:

I have a Mountain Lion (10.8.5) guest which I have imported onto a new host (Mac Mini Mid 2011 with an SSD an 8GB of RAM and High Sierra 10.13.6). The guest starts booting but stops and reboots. This goes on forever.
Same guest machine was working fine on the original host and is working fine on another Mac Mini Mid 2010 (also High Sierra 10.13.6) where it was imported to.

I am attaching some screenshots I have taken from the boot process on the OS X guest. How can I add more and how can I add logs from VB which are larger than 128kb?

Can anyone help, please?

Thanks
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2019-06-26 um 11.10.00.png
Bildschirmfoto 2019-06-26 um 11.10.00.png (92.45 KiB) Viewed 15433 times
Last edited by socratis on 26. Jun 2019, 13:00, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Removed unnecessary attachment, be more "green".
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Boot loop on macOS host with OS X guest

Post by socratis »

You included 3 identical screenshots. Not sure why you did that, but the 2 of them are now deleted, there was no point in providing thrice the same information...

I need to see a complete VBox.log, from a complete VM run, where the problem occurs:
  • Start the VM from cold-boot (not from a paused or saved state) / Observe problem / Shutdown the VM (force close it if you have to).
  • With the VM completely shut down (not paused or saved), right-click on the VM in the VirtualBox Manager and select "Show Log".
  • Save only the first "VBox.log", ZIP it and attach it to your response.