Installing a brand new Mac OS X El Capitan v10.11.6 hangs in its text mode...

Discussions about using Mac OS X guests (on Apple hardware) in VirtualBox.
ant
Primary OS: MS Windows other
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: Windows and macOSes

Installing a brand new Mac OS X El Capitan v10.11.6 hangs in its text mode...

Post by ant »

Hello.

This is my first time trying to install a brand new Mac OS X El Capitan v10.11.6 in a brand new VirtualBox v5.1.18 installation in a 2012 13.3" 9,2 / MD102ll/A model with Intel Core I7 CPU (2.9 ghz with 4 MB L3 cache (Turbo Boost up to 3.6 Ghz)), updated OS Sierra v10.12.4, 8 GB of 1600 MHZ DDR3 SDRAM, Intel HD graphics 4000, 500 GB of SSD, etc. I used viewtopic.php?f=22&t=81443 's instructions and script to make an ISO file of my downloaded App Store's Mac OS X El Capitan v10.11.6 installer.

I tried a couple new VMs (guided and expert with their mostly defaults except the VM location to be shared by multiple Mac OS users in /Users/ant/VirtualBox VMs/Mac OS X El Capitan v10.11.6/) twice with the mounted ISO file, but both failed with their last "com.apple.AppleFSCompressionTypeZlib load succeeded" line as shown in my http://i.imgur.com/Gf6yOtz.png screen capture/shot.

How do I fix this so I can clean install?

Thank you in advance. :)
Last edited by ant on 18. Apr 2017, 17:22, edited 2 times in total.
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Installing a brand new Mac OS X El Capitan v10.11.4 hangs in its text mode...

Post by socratis »

1. The MBP9,2 came originally with OSX 10.7.4, so it definitely supports 10.11.
  2. Did you get any errors during the InstallerApp2iso process?
  3. How long did you wait? The messages seem normal up to the point that you gave up.
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.