VirtualBox-5.0.24-108355-OSX-3.dmg stuck at Verifying "VirtualBox.pkg"...

Discussions about using Mac OS X guests (on Apple hardware) in VirtualBox.
MacVBUser

VirtualBox-5.0.24-108355-OSX-3.dmg stuck at Verifying "VirtualBox.pkg"...

Post by MacVBUser »

Hello,

I am currently running VirtualBox Version 5.0.20 r106931 on MAC OS X El Capitan version 10.11.5. I am an Admin level user on this Mac. When I launched this version of VirtualBox I was notified that there is a new version available and was provided the option to download VirtualBox-5.0.24-108355-OSX-3.dmg. The download completes successfully and the size of the disk image is 89.942.533 bytes.

I launch the DMG and get the Opening and Verifying message and I get to the screen with the 4 Items for this new version of VirtualBox. I then double-click on the icon VirtualBox.pkg which results in a window that says
Verifying "VirtualBox.pkg"...
. From here the installer seems to be stuck. I have let this Verifying run the entire night and no change.
Screenshot Verifying hang
Screenshot Verifying hang
Untitled2.jpg (33.15 KiB) Viewed 2093 times
I have tried downloading again using the link provided. I have tried downloading by going directly to virtual box dot org and downloading from the downloads. I have tried running the installer both with the older VirtualBox running and not running concurrently. All option result in the same Verifying hanging...

Is there an issue with this installer? I should not be required to do anything else other than double click the icon....that is how it has worked for all other updated that I have installed personally for the last 2 years on this same laptop.

Thanks,
MacVBUser
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: VirtualBox-5.0.24-108355-OSX-3.dmg stuck at Verifying "VirtualBox.pkg"...

Post by socratis »

Please see viewtopic.php?f=8&t=77122
Locking this one.