How to change the resolution?

Discussions about using Mac OS X guests (on Apple hardware) in VirtualBox.

How to change the resolution?

Postby vinhtq115 » 8. Feb 2013, 03:39

I installed Mac OS X but it always run 1024x768. How to change it to 1366x768? :(
vinhtq115
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 8. Feb 2013, 03:32

Re: How to change the resolution?

Postby Perryg » 8. Feb 2013, 03:55

Post the guests log file (as an attachment)
See Online Users Manual for the location of the file.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34003
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: How to change the resolution?

Postby rpmurray » 9. Feb 2013, 03:18

Running OS X as a guest in VirtualBox limits you to the display resolutions you can select.

From the User Manual:

EFI provides two distinct video interfaces: GOP (Graphics Output Protocol) and UGA (Universal Graphics Adapter). Mac OS X uses GOP, while Linux tends to use UGA. VirtualBox provides a configuration option to control the framebuffer size for both interfaces.

To control GOP, use the following VBoxManage command:

VBoxManage setextradata "VM name" VBoxInternal2/EfiGopMode N

Where N can be one of 0,1,2,3,4 referring to the 640x480, 800x600, 1024x768, 1280x1024, 1440x900 screen resolution respectively.

The video mode for both GOP and UGA can only be changed when the VM is powered off and remains persistent until changed.


I've found through experimentation that if you use N = 5 you can also get a resolution of 1920x1200.
rpmurray
Volunteer
 
Posts: 904
Joined: 3. Mar 2009, 00:29
Location: Between Heaven and Hell
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows Server 2003 SP2, Windows XP SP3, Windows 7

Re: How to change the resolution?

Postby Bobbins » 22. Sep 2013, 18:28

just in case anyone else has issue's i have also found the following to work:

open Finder and go to the OS X drive on the left. Open the folder called Extras. Right Click on the file com.Apple.Boot.plist and open it with TextEdit.

Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1920x1080x32</string>


Select "Save As" at the top and save it to the desktop, un-checking the tick box under Unicode and then save it as com.apple.boot.plist. After that drag and drop it into the extras folder and overwrite the original file, entering your password set up during account creation.

Once you have done this close down your Virtual Machine. Then in normal windows using your search option, load CMD.

To start with type the following: cd "C:\Program Files\Oracle\Virtualbox" Once you have done this types the following: vboxmanage setextradata "Name of virtual machine" "CustomVideoMode1" "1920x1080x32" and press enter. The sizes here you will need to set as you screen resolution. You can usually find out by right clicking on your desktop and selecting Screen Resolution or Options. Replace "1920x1080x32" with whatever resolution you're using.

This worked perfectly fine for me.
Bobbins
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 22. Sep 2013, 16:15

Re: How to change the resolution?

Postby kkshethin » 26. Oct 2013, 16:32

my virtaul machine name is mac an i wanted 1280*1024 resolution. In terminal i did

VBoxManage setextradata "mac" VBoxInternal2/EfiGopMode 3

It worked, thanks.
kkshethin
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 8. Feb 2011, 07:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 8
VBox Version: OSE other
Guest OSses: linuxmint

Re: How to change the resolution?

Postby mascondante » 21. Aug 2014, 23:58

I tried all instructions here and to no avail. Changing the "Graphics Mode" and setting custom video mode as well as the VBoxManage setextradata "OSX" VBoxInternal2/EfiGopMode 5 command. I got a higher resolution but no more than 1280x1024. Is there any other way to make it happen?
mascondante
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 21. Aug 2014, 23:55

Re: How to change the resolution?

Postby joeybagofdonuts » 20. Nov 2014, 17:05

I tried this with a windows 7 guest host and i don't get more than 1024x768. What gives?
joeybagofdonuts
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 20. Nov 2014, 17:04

Re: How to change the resolution?

Postby socratis » 20. Nov 2014, 18:13

@joeybagofdonuts
With a Windows 7 host or with a Windows 7 guest? This is the Mac guests forum, so if you meant a Windows 7 host, then the answer is in the FAQ: Mac OS X guest on a Windows Host.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 11289
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: How to change the resolution?

Postby aClockworkOrange » 20. Feb 2016, 16:58

Also I found that you can't use 'spaces' in your vm name, for example use:

VBoxManage setextradata “elCapitainNew" VBoxInternal2/EfiGopMode

instead of

VBoxManage setextradata “el capitain new" VBoxInternal2/EfiGopMode 3 (this is not going to work)
aClockworkOrange
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 20. Feb 2016, 16:53

Re: How to change the resolution?

Postby ccole » 20. Apr 2016, 16:43

Thank you! Taking the spaces out of the VM worked for me. :D

aClockworkOrange wrote:Also I found that you can't use 'spaces' in your vm name, for example use:

VBoxManage setextradata “elCapitainNew" VBoxInternal2/EfiGopMode

instead of

VBoxManage setextradata “el capitain new" VBoxInternal2/EfiGopMode 3 (this is not going to work)
ccole
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 20. Apr 2016, 16:41

Re: How to change the resolution?

Postby socratis » 20. Apr 2016, 17:40

Why does bad advice and subsequently thank yous keep pilling up? If your VM has a space in its name, it has a space in its name. Not even Turing can change that.

Now, since you know how to use the Terminal, could you post the output of the command:
   VBoxManage list vms

so we can see what we're dealing with?
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 11289
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5


Return to Mac OS X Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests