macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Discussions about using Mac OS X guests (on Apple hardware) in VirtualBox.

macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Postby dumbidiot453 » 16. Jul 2022, 18:36

Info: macOS Monterey Host, macOS Ventura beta Guest. I tried installing macOS Ventura beta (again, this time not a hackintosh iso) and it installed perfectly until when it restarted the second time. It said 29 mins remaining, goes down to 19 mins or something, then it restarts and goes back to 29 mins and boot loops. Can someone help me? :?: Oh and btw here's a log if you need it
Attachments
macOS Ventura-2022-07-15-23-14-45.log.zip
the log file
(48.75 KiB) Downloaded 132 times
dumbidiot453
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 19. Jun 2022, 02:58
Location: Dream Island
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly macOS and Windows, and some Linux.

Re: macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Postby multiOS » 17. Jul 2022, 17:10

Unless anyone comes up with a better idea, my guess would be that the macOS installation media is identifying that your host has a CPU which is not, according to Apple, compatible with Ventura. Your Host is reported in the log as an iMac 13,1 a late 2012 model with a processor that is far too old to pass the compatibility checking Apple installers use; and the CPU is a real hardware component the VM installation could definitely identify.

However, it might also be relevant that you are attempting to create a macOS VM with a version (Ventura) that is not supported by the current version of VirtualBox on a Host version of macOS (Monterey) that is also not (yet) supported officially; but I have experienced no problems running VirtualBox on Big Sur or Monterey hosts providing beta releases are avoided. - See the current VirtualBox Guide for further details on supported Hosts and Guests.
multiOS
Volunteer
 
Posts: 733
Joined: 14. Sep 2019, 16:51
Location: United Kingdom
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: WIN11,10, 7, Linux (various)

Re: macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Postby dumbidiot453 » 18. Jul 2022, 00:13

Is there any way to get it to run? Like change the CPU of the VM?
dumbidiot453
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 19. Jun 2022, 02:58
Location: Dream Island
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly macOS and Windows, and some Linux.

Re: macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Postby scottgus1 » 18. Jul 2022, 13:50

Virtualbox has commands to fake the CPU. But the fakes are older than the existing CPU. You want newer.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 18059
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Postby dumbidiot453 » 18. Jul 2022, 23:57

Is there any other way to do it then?
dumbidiot453
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 19. Jun 2022, 02:58
Location: Dream Island
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly macOS and Windows, and some Linux.

Re: macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Postby scottgus1 » 19. Jul 2022, 01:29

Gotta love it when folks ask the question, we give them an answer, and they ask the question again....

To put it succinctly:

No.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 18059
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Postby scottgus1 » 19. Jul 2022, 01:30

Actually, yes, there is a way:

Get a newer Mac that Apple will let run Ventura.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 18059
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Postby dumbidiot453 » 19. Jul 2022, 03:12

Aw. Well are the older CPUs okay to use? (Also I love when people answer too)
dumbidiot453
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 19. Jun 2022, 02:58
Location: Dream Island
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly macOS and Windows, and some Linux.

Re: macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Postby scottgus1 » 19. Jul 2022, 03:32

Hmm. I think we're having trouble communicating here:
multiOS wrote:my guess would be that the macOS installation media is identifying that your host has a CPU which is not, according to Apple, compatible with Ventura. ... a processor that is far too old to pass the compatibility checking

scottgus1 wrote:the fakes are older than the existing CPU. You want newer.

dumbidiot453 wrote:are the older CPUs okay

If older won't work, why ask for older? :shock:

Since, as MultiOS points out, the host's physical CPU, an Intel Core i5-3330S, is seen by the VM's OS, your Ventura OS will see the 2012 Mac's CPU. If Apple does not want Ventura running on the i5-3330S, then you'll have trouble running it in a VM.

Web-search how to get more modern Mac OS to run on older Macs. If someone has figured out how to get around Apple's controls for installing newer OS on an older physical Mac, the same method might work in the VM. But this is a web-search question, not a Virtualbox question.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 18059
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Postby dumbidiot453 » 21. Jul 2022, 04:21

No sorry I meant the older fake CPUs, not my actual CPU sorry
dumbidiot453
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 19. Jun 2022, 02:58
Location: Dream Island
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly macOS and Windows, and some Linux.

Re: macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Postby scottgus1 » 21. Jul 2022, 22:24

If an older real CPU won't work, an older fake CPU will be sure to work perfectly. :lol:

See viewtopic.php?t=84423
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 18059
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Postby dumbidiot453 » 24. Jul 2022, 04:56

I don't know what CPUs are supported with Ventura
dumbidiot453
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 19. Jun 2022, 02:58
Location: Dream Island
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly macOS and Windows, and some Linux.

Re: macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Postby multiOS » 24. Jul 2022, 09:24

Ventura is new and not yet officially released in it's final form, so it needs a much newer CPU than you've got! Check Apple's OS specs for the OS, which for compatibility requires an Apple model (and therefore a CPU) from 2017/2018 or later.

As an Apple user, I'm surprised that you don't know about their general approach to supporting hardware and software generations for a limited time.
multiOS
Volunteer
 
Posts: 733
Joined: 14. Sep 2019, 16:51
Location: United Kingdom
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: WIN11,10, 7, Linux (various)

Re: macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Postby dumbidiot453 » 24. Jul 2022, 23:57

I tried the commands, still restarting. So, are there any commands for a 2017 CPU?
dumbidiot453
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 19. Jun 2022, 02:58
Location: Dream Island
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly macOS and Windows, and some Linux.

Re: macOS Ventura Beta install boot loop

Postby scottgus1 » 25. Jul 2022, 01:39

You mean, are there any Virtualbox commands that make your Mac's CPU look newer to the VM? Not that I am aware of, no.

From viewtopic.php?t=84423#p493643
fth0 wrote:CPU profiles are used to deny the guest capabilities of the host CPU.

So these commands restrict the host CPU's capabilities, not extend them. At risk of repeating ourselves, Virtualbox does not emulate CPUs.

The following is repeating ourselves, but you just don't seem to get it:

You need a newer Mac to run Ventura.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 18059
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Next

Return to Mac OS X Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests