[WorksForMe] Windows guest shows only one cpu

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.

Re: Windows guest shows only one cpu

Postby scottgus1 » 22. Aug 2019, 18:03

My thought, too. See where it says "Prozessoranzahl". Uncheck that box & reboot. That box is limiting you to one processor.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
 
Posts: 4302
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Windows guest shows only one cpu

Postby mpack » 22. Aug 2019, 19:25

I don't see that dialog in msconfig (Win 10 1903 Pro 64bit). I assume it must be a server special.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29718
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Windows guest shows only one cpu

Postby HAKAK » 22. Aug 2019, 19:31

@socratis
I have to explain the situation.
I am not responsible for the Windows machines. I am a Linux specialist having set up the host with VirtualBox and the samba server mentioned above. Both work without problems. The samba VM got its single processor after change and works with its expected performance (very good) presumably because it is running without GUI. Only those dammed Windows VMs raise problems. (You see, I don't like Windows at all. However, I have no choice)
The guy responsible for the Windows-VMs is very poor in English, Thus I have to do all the forum is concerned.
We work remote from different locations.

The checkbox for the Prozessorzahl the Windows specialist only checked to inform me.
The listbox is still greyed out if he unchecks the checkbox.
Also a reboot did change nothing.
HAKAK
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 21. Aug 2019, 20:39

Re: Windows guest shows only one cpu

Postby HAKAK » 22. Aug 2019, 19:33

@mpack
A already mentioned several times.
Read the thread from the beginning.
2 Windows Server 2016 as guests.
HAKAK
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 21. Aug 2019, 20:39

Re: Windows guest shows only one cpu

Postby scottgus1 » 22. Aug 2019, 19:39

HAKAK wrote:The checkbox for the Prozessorzahl the Windows specialist only checked to inform me.
The listbox is still greyed out if he unchecks the checkbox.
Also a reboot did change nothing.


In my Windows 10 & Server 2016 there is little difference in grays between checked & unchecked. Threw me off for a minute too.
boot adv proc unchecked.png
boot adv proc unchecked.png (3.54 KiB) Viewed 169 times


I know you said you rebooted. Please show a screenshot of the msconfig box unchecked, then reboot the guest, then show a screenshot of the task manager again. And a screenshot of the device manager with the Processors section opened up:
device manager procs open.png
device manager procs open.png (28.29 KiB) Viewed 169 times
Last edited by scottgus1 on 22. Aug 2019, 19:46, edited 1 time in total.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
 
Posts: 4302
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Windows guest shows only one cpu

Postby socratis » 22. Aug 2019, 19:45

HAKAK,
I don't really like to quote myself, but did you try this?
socratis wrote:Download a Linux LiveDVD, for example SystemRescueCD. Boot the Win2016 VM from the LiveDVD, accepting the defaults. Once you're at the terminal, enter the following command which will give you the number of CPUs:

    nproc
What's the output?
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25308
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Windows guest shows only one cpu

Postby HAKAK » 22. Aug 2019, 20:09

Will be a little difficult, because I am not sitting in front of the machine concerned.
Maybe tomorrow. will be the task of the Windows guy :wink:

Greetings

HAKaK
and real thanks for trying to help
HAKAK
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 21. Aug 2019, 20:39

Re: Windows guest shows only one cpu

Postby socratis » 22. Aug 2019, 20:11

BTW, I just tested the 'msconfig' thingy on my Win10-64 VM. If I have that checkbox enabled, Windows thinks that there's only 1 CPU, even though the VM is configured with two. Unchecking this restores order in the universe...

I think we have the solution.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25308
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Windows guest shows only one cpu

Postby scottgus1 » 22. Aug 2019, 20:15

No problem, Hakak, glad to try.

Interesting, Socratis. Found that in a google search assuming it wasn't a Virtualbox problem. Soon as we can clarify if a reboot with the box unchecked has occurred & hopefully Hakak's guests start working right, we might be able to call in the dogs and put out the fire on this one...

Mpack, I spun up a Windows 10 1903 Enterprise evaluation, and I see that processor checkbox.
w10 1903 boot adv proc.png
w10 1903 boot adv proc.png (25.87 KiB) Viewed 166 times

I don't have 1903 Home version on my house PC yet, wonder if they took it out?
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
 
Posts: 4302
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Windows guest shows only one cpu

Postby mpack » 23. Aug 2019, 09:25

HAKAK wrote:@mpack
A already mentioned several times.

That is twice now you have contradicted me for saying something I did not say. Please do not do it again.

I can read English, so I'm well aware of what OS you are using. My last comment was about the OS's I have available for testing.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29718
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Windows guest shows only one cpu

Postby mpack » 23. Aug 2019, 09:43

scottgus1 wrote:Mpack, I spun up a Windows 10 1903 Enterprise evaluation, and I see that processor checkbox.

Aha, got it thanks, in Win10 Pro (1903 64bit). The OP's screenshot showed the "Start"<obscured> tab opened, so I was looking in the Startup tab instead of the Boot tab.

I just checked a Win10 Home tablet I have, and the dialog is there as well. I've just never noticed it before!
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29718
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Windows guest shows only one cpu

Postby HAKAK » 23. Aug 2019, 09:57

No result.

The list below the checkbox always shows only one processor, even after reboot of the VM.

Would it be helpfull to reboot the whole system, i. e. shuting down all VMs and reboot the host system?
However, this can be done in evening time.
HAKAK
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 21. Aug 2019, 20:39

Re: Windows guest shows only one cpu

Postby socratis » 23. Aug 2019, 10:09

This is the last time I'm going to repeat my request to boot a Linux LiveDVD and see what that gives. After that I'm done here because my advice seems to be ignored... :?

I believe that this is a misconfiguration of your Win VMs, something that booting into another OS could easily clarify.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25308
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Windows guest shows only one cpu

Postby HAKAK » 23. Aug 2019, 11:01

After that I'm done here because my advice seems to be ignored..

Sorry.

Download a Linux LiveDVD, for example SystemRescueCD. Boot the Win2016 VM from the LiveDVD, accepting the defaults. Once you're at the terminal, enter the following command which will give you the number of CPUs:

However, I don't have the possibility to do that now, because I can't shut down the machine in the moment, and because I'm working remote on a ssh shell.
I only can do this in the evening (maybe in about 7 to 8 hours).
Can you tell me how I can start the Windows VM from this LinuxLiveCD. Is there any virtualization on it?
Meanwhile I ran nproc on the host system telling me 16
On my samba VM it tells 1
I am a little confused about that
Another question:
The main difference between the both Windows VMs is firmware.
The data I sent are from the EFI one.
The other is BIOS
Does this make any difference for my problem?
HAKAK
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 21. Aug 2019, 20:39

Re: Windows guest shows only one cpu

Postby scottgus1 » 23. Aug 2019, 18:28

HAKAK wrote:Can you tell me how I can start the Windows VM from this LinuxLiveCD

The LiveCD will probably be an ISO download. In the guest settings, click the guest's Optical drive:
Mouse over click CD drive.png
Mouse over click CD drive.png (52.85 KiB) Viewed 138 times

Click "Choose disk image...", then browse to the downloaded ISO and select it. Now the ISO is attached to the guest's CD drive.
Boot the guest and watch the screen to see how to get to the command prompt so you can type the "nproc" command.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
 
Posts: 4302
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

PreviousNext

Return to Windows Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests