Page 1 of 2

Error while virtualizating Vista64 on Vista64.

PostPosted: 6. Sep 2008, 20:00
by Yanew
I'm trying to virtualize my Vista64 (on my Vista64 host, an Intel Core 2 Duo), but I've got the following error:

Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause. To fix the problem:

1. Insert your Windows installation disc and restart your computer.
2. Choose your language settings, anche then click "Next."
3. Click "Repair your computer."

If you do not have this disc, contact your system administrator or computer manufacturer for assistance.

File: \windows\system32\boot\winload.exe

Status: 0x000035a

Info: Attempting to load a 64-bit application, however this CPU is not compatible with 64-bit mode.


Can you help me?
:?

PostPosted: 6. Sep 2008, 20:25
by Anusha
I get the same error. But in my case, I'm running Windows Server 2008 x64 and was trying to install Vista SP1 x64/Server 2008 x64. Both failed giving the same error :(

Image

Image

PostPosted: 6. Sep 2008, 21:12
by Sasquatch
Is any of you actually running VB 2.0? Only 2.0 supports 64 bit Guests, however, there are a few issues with some guest systems.

Anusha, for network, don't use the PCNet adapter for Vista or Server 2008, there is no driver for it. Use the Intel/Pro1000 instead.

PostPosted: 6. Sep 2008, 21:21
by stefan.becker
VT-x/AMD-X must be enabled.

For me Vista 64 works in VBOX 2.0 / Host Suse 11.0 / 64 Bit.

PostPosted: 6. Sep 2008, 22:44
by Anusha
Sasquatch wrote:Is any of you actually running VB 2.0? Only 2.0 supports 64 bit Guests, however, there are a few issues with some guest systems.

Anusha, for network, don't use the PCNet adapter for Vista or Server 2008, there is no driver for it. Use the Intel/Pro1000 instead.

Yes using 2.0
Changed the network :)
Tried XP x64 too. Same prob.

PostPosted: 6. Sep 2008, 22:44
by Anusha
stefan.becker wrote:VT-x/AMD-X must be enabled.

For me Vista 64 works in VBOX 2.0 / Host Suse 11.0 / 64 Bit.

So you are telling me I can't use x64 because I have an E7200 which doesn't support VT? Dammit!

PostPosted: 6. Sep 2008, 23:17
by Yanew
What?!? So you're telling me that I can't virtualize 64-bit systems because of my new CPU (E8400) doesen't support this kind of virtualization? Isn't it?
:shock:

And this is true only for VirtualBox or is it a general issue?!?
:(

PostPosted: 7. Sep 2008, 00:06
by Sasquatch
Hmm, it is not mentioned in the release notes that you need VT-x/AMD-v enabled. I wonder what the developpers have to say about this.

PostPosted: 7. Sep 2008, 00:25
by TerryE
Yanew wrote:What?!? So you're telling me that I can't virtualize 64-bit systems because of my new CPU (E8400) doesen't support this kind of virtualization? Isn't it?
Yes, if you read the UG you need VT-x/AMD-V to be able to virtualize 64-bit client.

Yanew wrote:this is true only for VirtualBox or is it a general issue?
You need to virtualize the client. This can either be done by H/W support or by one of the translation/patching techniques. There is nothing to stop you developing a 64-bit patcher, but is a major development activity which is really only going to be needed for a narrow window of 64-bit CPUs which don't support virtualisation. The VBox team have chosen only to support H/W assist. I don't know about other VM vendors.

PostPosted: 7. Sep 2008, 00:59
by Nille02
BTW for 64bit Guest you need to Aktivate IO ACPI

PostPosted: 7. Sep 2008, 01:11
by stefan.becker
Sasquatch wrote:Hmm, it is not mentioned in the release notes that you need VT-x/AMD-v enabled. I wonder what the developpers have to say about this.

You can try this yourself.

I have a working Vista 64-Guest. After disabling AMD-VT i get the same error like the upper screenshot before. After enabling the setting guest starts again.

BTW: In Vista 64 Guest all is working instead of sound. It seems that there are no more drivers for intel ac97 or sb16.

PostPosted: 7. Sep 2008, 01:29
by Yanew
stefan.becker wrote:I have a working Vista 64-Guest. After disabling AMD-VT i get the same error like the upper screenshot before. After enabling the setting guest starts again.

I've tried, now the error is:

Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause. To fix the problem:

1. Insert your Windows installation disc and restart your computer.
2. Choose your language settings, anche then click "Next."
3. Click "Repair your computer."

If you do not have this disc, contact your system administrator or computer manufacturer for assistance.

Status: 0xc0000225

Info: An unexpecter error has occurred.

PostPosted: 7. Sep 2008, 02:05
by Nille02
@Yanew

is IO ACPI, ACPI and PAE/NX Enabled ? if not Enapble it ;)

Image

( I know the Pic is in German but the Important part is clear ;) )

PostPosted: 7. Sep 2008, 04:23
by Anusha
guess my whole weekend plans were ruined :(

PostPosted: 7. Sep 2008, 04:50
by Nille02
Anusha wrote:guess my whole weekend plans were ruined :(

Say This Tool From VMware you can run a 64bit Guest ? http://download3.vmware.com/software/wk ... -45731.exe
if yes activate ACPI, IOACPI, AMD-V/VT-x, PAE/NX like on my Picture ( aktiviert = enabled ) and if not sorry you cant run a 64bit guest.

and sorry for your weekend but this is not our fault or the fault from VB