Huge Display on VM

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.
Stevex033

Huge Display on VM

Post by Stevex033 »

So ive been reading around the forums trying to fix my display problem. It doesnt go any bigger than 1600x1200. Ive tried inserting the guestadditions and it doesnt do anything. This is my first time trying to make a VM and i've already had about 5 headaches so far. Also I dunno if I have done something wrong but the vm is very laggy slow mouse movement long wait periods for chrome and other apps to open. If anyone can help me out that would be greatly appreciated
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Huge Display on VM

Post by socratis »

Stevex033 wrote:Ive tried inserting the guestadditions and it doesnt do anything.
Just inserting a CD in your computer won't do anything, you actually have to install the Guest Additions.

Unfortunatelly you didn't tell us what's your host, your guest, your VirtualBox version, so I can't give you more specific information. You should read ch. 4.2. Installing and Maintaining Guest Additions for details.
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Stevex033

Post by Stevex033 »

finally figured out the Guest Additions and got them running on the VM. VM manger is 5.2.22 its running windows 10 32bit from what i understood it had to be 32 bit. Basically the only reason why I am trying to run a VM is for a online poker bot to run multiple tables because I only have one monitor on my host pc which can only run about 2 tables because with the bot I cant resize the tables.

My host pc is a custom build. I7-7700K 16gb ram 1tbssd 1tbhdd GTX 1070.