[Invalid] can't activate win 10 pro

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.
vmTest

[Invalid] can't activate win 10 pro

Post by vmTest »

Hi Im new to vm. I instaled a win 10 pro guests on my win 10 pro. Ween I try to activate it says the win 10 pro key cant work.
Is it ok to use the key I used to install on my pc for the guest vm ?
I build the pc from ground up so its not a OME key. I got the key from a key shop not from microsoft store. I evan payed more for the key to not be a OME.
Last edited by socratis on 6. Jun 2018, 20:49, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Marked as [Invalid].
andyp73
Volunteer
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Assorted Linux, Windows Server 2012, DOS, Windows 10, BIOS/UEFI emulation

Re: can't activate win 10 pro

Post by andyp73 »

vmTest wrote:Is it ok to use the key I used to install on my pc for the guest vm ?
You will need to check the wording of the Microsoft license agreement to see whether the same key can be used for both a physical PC and virtual guests. I would expect that it probably doesn't and that you will need a new license key.

-Andy.
My crystal ball is currently broken. If you want assistance you are going to have to give me all of the necessary information.
Please don't ask me to do your homework for you, I have more than enough of my own things to do.
gray25
Primary OS: MS Windows other
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Windows

Re: can't activate win 10 pro

Post by gray25 »

Correct. You will need another license key for each windows installation.
vmTest

Re: [Invalid] can't activate win 10 pro

Post by vmTest »

odd.. I have used same win7 and win xp key's in the past for 2 diferant pc's. Thay might have been OME's. I gues I can test a install on a diferant pc amd see if thay let me activate it. I HATE HOW LONG g-part shrink takes just for me to dual boot for this..Hmm..