5.2.12 error

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.
kencooper

5.2.12 error

Post by kencooper »

I don't know whether I am in the right place, but there doesn't appear to be a way of asking Oracle a question or reporting an error.
I have downloaded and installed Ver 5.2.12 r122591. This worked fine after I installed it, but it errored this morning. I repaired it, using the original downloaded update, but it failed again.
I downloaded the update again, and used this download to repair, with the same result.
I have been using this software since 2014, when Microsoft pulled the plug on support for XP, and it runs XP and holds all my accounts information.
I can't find the log file, which it says I should download and attach.
Please help, as I can't function without access to my accounts information.
andyp73
Volunteer
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Assorted Linux, Windows Server 2012, DOS, Windows 10, BIOS/UEFI emulation

Re: 5.2.12 error

Post by andyp73 »

Ch 10.1. Where VirtualBox stores its files in the user manual will tell you where all the files are.

When you say "it errored" and "it failed again" is that the Windows XP guest when you try to open it or the VirtualBox application itself? If VirtualBox itself opens, then to get the VBox.log file right click on the guest and select "Show log..." we only need the most recent (zipped of course).

-Andy.
My crystal ball is currently broken. If you want assistance you are going to have to give me all of the necessary information.
Please don't ask me to do your homework for you, I have more than enough of my own things to do.
kencooper

Post by kencooper »

The VirtualBox application opens as normal, but the XP does not load.

I can't find the log file created today, what I have found are
VBox.log.1 Created 31/5/18
VBox.log.2 Created 30/5/18
VBox.log.3 Created 25/5/18

which are the last three days when I logged in successfully.

The only file which has been created today is