vdmk file. error: no bootable medium found

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.
Shmu26

vdmk file. error: no bootable medium found

Post by Shmu26 »

Yes, I am new to VirtualBox, so please bear with me. I created a VM, and when it asked me for the hard disk, I selected the vdmk file that is in my VMware machine (powered off, of course). It works fine in VMware. I did not copy this file over to the VB folder.
host: win10
guest: win10
mpack
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: vdmk file. error: no bootable medium found

Post by mpack »

If you did it successfully then I can only assume that the vmdk you selected is not a bootable disk. Was it the primary disk in the original VM?

Please provide a VM log file. With the VM fully shut down, right click it in the GUI. Select "Show Log" and save "VBox.log" (ONLY) to a zip file. Attach the zip here.
Shmu26

Post by Shmu26 »

Log attached
Last edited by socratis on 21. Dec 2017, 17:34, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed raw attachment. Be more "green".
mpack
Site Moderator

Post by mpack »

mpack wrote:Was it the primary disk in the original VM?
mpack wrote:save "VBox.log" (ONLY) to a zip file. Attach the zip here.
Shmu26

Post by Shmu26 »

Yes, it is the primary and the only disk in the original VM.
I just played it again in VMware, just to make sure it is bootable. It is. I also tried disabling security softs, to make sure that's not the problem. It isn't.
Zipped logs attached, sorry I forgot to zip them the first time around...
Attachments
My VB machine-2017-12-21-16-17-39.zip
(20.76 KiB) Downloaded 124 times
mpack
Site Moderator

Post by mpack »

I don't know what to tell you. The "no bootable medium found" error is simple and never wrong. If the virtual BIOS says that none of the disks attached to the VM are bootable, then I've never known it to be wrong.

Possibilities: