Command prompt on win95 instalation

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.

Command prompt on win95 instalation

Postby José Flor » 29. Nov 2017, 05:24

I have tried to install either win98 and win95 on virtualbox 5.2.0
I select with CD ROM support but it ends up on dive A command prompt.
Before to that, there was a saying about FAT 32.
I try to format drive C and run win95 iso file but no success.

If you ask me why I need Win95, it is because I need to install my AutoCAD 2000 on it to do a project. I need an operating system that runs AutoCAD 2000.
Attachments
win95 1.PNG
win95 1.PNG (13.13 KiB) Viewed 165 times
José Flor
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 29. Nov 2017, 05:13

Re: Command prompt on win95 instalation

Postby socratis » 29. Nov 2017, 09:09

See if any of these tutorials can help you:
BTW, Win95 for Autocad 2000? I would expect something like W2K to be more... robust for such a big program.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 12693
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Command prompt on win95 instalation

Postby José Flor » 29. Nov 2017, 09:20

That is what if says when I try to install on XP or Win7.
Thank you for your replay, I will look the links.
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (123.7 KiB) Viewed 158 times
José Flor
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 29. Nov 2017, 05:13

Re: Command prompt on win95 instalation

Postby socratis » 29. Nov 2017, 09:35

As I suspected it, it supports Windows NT 5.0 == Windows 2000.
See: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_NT#Releases
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 12693
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Command prompt on win95 instalation

Postby mpack » 29. Nov 2017, 10:27

Do yourself a favor and don't bother with Win95. No amount of polishing will make that turd look beautiful.

Ideally you need Win2K, as VirtualBox has GAs for that. Second best is Win98SE.

Also, have you tried running it in an XP guest, in Win2K compatibility mode?
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25487
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Command prompt on win95 instalation

Postby José Flor » 29. Nov 2017, 13:02

Thank for all feed back.
I manage to install Win98 with 4GB Mem and 20GB HDD.
It does not run, memory problem. See pics.
Tomorrow will install Win2K
Attachments
Win98-VM no memory.PNG
Win98-VM no memory.PNG (8.4 KiB) Viewed 142 times
José Flor
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 29. Nov 2017, 05:13

Re: Command prompt on win95 instalation

Postby José Flor » 29. Nov 2017, 13:03

Second image
Attachments
Win98-VM no memory2.PNG
Win98-VM no memory2.PNG (13.51 KiB) Viewed 142 times
José Flor
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 29. Nov 2017, 05:13

Re: Command prompt on win95 instalation

Postby mpack » 29. Nov 2017, 14:23

Please read the tutorials. It is not sensible to assign 4GB RAM and a 20GB hard drive to a Win98SE VM.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25487
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Command prompt on win95 instalation

Postby José Flor » 30. Nov 2017, 00:27

I assign it 1GB on installation. Because I had that error I start assigning 2 and then 4GB. (4GB must be 64bit machines)
I remember DOS 4.1 only handles 640KB, the rest id high memory.
The disk I had assigned 8GB at start too.
José Flor
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 29. Nov 2017, 05:13

Re: Command prompt on win95 instalation

Postby socratis » 30. Nov 2017, 01:00

As stated before, you're waisting your time with something that's 1) almost unsupported and 2) finicky at best. Go with Win2K.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 12693
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Command prompt on win95 instalation

Postby mpack » 30. Nov 2017, 10:02

José Flor wrote:I assign it 1GB on installation. Because I had that error I start assigning 2 and then 4GB. (4GB must be 64bit machines)
I remember DOS 4.1 only handles 640KB, the rest id high memory.
The disk I had assigned 8GB at start too.

My own (working) Win98SE VM has a whopping 256MB RAM, 20MB graphics RAM, and 2GB hard disk.

If you are going to play with ancient operating systems you really need to research what a good spec machine of the time would be, and not go too far beyond that. 8GB for the disk in particular is an unfortunate choice, because it's at just less than 8GB that the old CHS sector addressing scheme maxes out.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25487
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP


Return to Windows Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests