Windows 98 - Protection Error

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.
EternalVirtualBox787

Windows 98 - Protection Error

Post by EternalVirtualBox787 »

Okay so this is my first time trying to use VirtualBox of any kind, I have been following the instructions according to this video - "Install Windows 98 (and play old win games) with VirtualBox - Squakenet . com tutorial", and I got several Win98 isos, but only one of them (I got from a video after searching for isos) actually worked and got me to successfully run Windows 98. I followed his instructions up to SciTech Display Doctor, but after applying and installing said Display Doctor, my Win 98 emulation tells me "Windows Protection Error - your system must restart" and I can only run it in Safe Mode/Safe Mode with Networking, trying to run it normally does not run it.

Is this an issue I can fix? If so, how? I followed the instructions of the video down exactly and I'm sure of it. Is it a problem with the isos I'm using? I don't know where else to turn to for those. It is a problem with the display doctor? I don't know what to do and would appreciate some assistance please.
mpack
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Windows 98 - Protection Error

Post by mpack »

If you want to install Win98SE then it's best to start from a genuine Microsoft install CD. For both practical and legal reasons that is the only scenario we can help you with.
EternalVirtualBox787

Thanks for the reply

And yeah, I guess I will have to buckle down and purchase an actual copy of Windows 98
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Post by socratis »

If and when you do, remember to check the how-to articles: Board index » General » Howtos and Tutorials » Windows Guests.
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.