Automatic Window Resolution Sizing and Shared Folder

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.
ForFOAMsake

Automatic Window Resolution Sizing and Shared Folder

Post by ForFOAMsake »

Greetings!
I hope I am in the right place. I have a windows 10 machine, and virtualbox version 5.1.6 with a Linux distro of Leap 42.1. Up until today everything was working great until Leap had an update for the system. I should clarify I use this virtual machine for openFOAM simulations. I was able have the window resolution change dynamically with the window I had the VM running in, and I had set up a shared foldered to run my cases in. These two things were all I needed to use the VM. Now both of those things don't work, and they both stopped at the same time.

I am looking for anything I can give this community here to help me fix these two problems. I am fairly new to Linux so step by steps or log files to help others learn what to fix is what I am planning.

Resizing screen resolution with the VM window.

Share folder auto mounting and working.

Thank you to everyone for your help and suggestions with this!

Travis Evans
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Automatic Window Resolution Sizing and Shared Folder

Post by scottgus1 »

ForFOAMsake wrote:everything was working great until Leap had an update
I'd suspect that herein is your problem - Leap broke something.

Auto-screen-resizing and auto-mount shared folders are Guest Additions functions. I would try uninstalling and reinstalling the Virtualbox Guest Additions from the ISO provided with Virtualbox.
ForFOAMsake

Post by ForFOAMsake »

Hello Everyone,