How to use the host graphical board in guest machine

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.

How to use the host graphical board in guest machine

Postby numb3rs666 » 15. Jan 2015, 12:30

My problem is that I need to install some CAD software as ProE in the virtual machine. For to do this I need to have the complete use of all resources of the phisical graphical board. How can I to do this?
If necessary I can also install 2 phisical graphical boards: one is already installed high performance for CAD and that I want to put in charge to the guest machine and the second, normal performance, for the Host machine.
The Host Operating System could be as you prefer windows or linux. this is not a problem.

I hope in your help. Thanks in advance.
numb3rs666
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 30. Dec 2013, 18:14

Re: How to use the host graphical board in guest machine

Postby socratis » 15. Jan 2015, 15:37

Two words: Dual Boot.

There is no way (so far) to take advantage of the actual hardware. There is an experimental PCI-passthrough mode, but no-one has reported that it is actually working. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news...
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 18072
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: How to use the host graphical board in guest machine

Postby mpack » 15. Jan 2015, 16:18

socratis wrote:There is an experimental PCI-passthrough mode, but no-one has reported that it is actually working.

... and this feature is in any case available to Linux guests only.

Basically, virtual machines don't do real hardware. For that you need dual boot as Socratis said.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 27426
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: How to use the host graphical board in guest machine

Postby Perryg » 15. Jan 2015, 16:40

Don meant that this feature is in any case available to Linux hosts only
http://www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch09.h ... assthrough

I have gotten this to work but the limitations and work involved are way to much to be a viable solution. Better dual boot.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34372
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: How to use the host graphical board in guest machine

Postby numb3rs666 » 15. Jan 2015, 18:04

Thanks a lot at all for your answers.
numb3rs666
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 30. Dec 2013, 18:14


Return to Windows Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests