Network won't start in Vista

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.

Network won't start in Vista

Postby jslegers » 26. Jun 2007, 09:26

Host is Windows XP SP2. Guest is Windows Vista. I can't get the Network to start. I this a known issue in Virtualbox 1.40 ?
jslegers
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 26. Jun 2007, 09:24
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP, WIN 7, OpenSuse 11.1

Postby jslegers » 26. Jun 2007, 09:50

Problem solved.
Downloaded these drivers : http://www.amd.com/us-en/assets/content ... /V4.51.zip and it works.
jslegers
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 26. Jun 2007, 09:24
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: XP, WIN 7, OpenSuse 11.1

Postby ajamison » 1. Jul 2007, 03:10

those drivers do nothing for me as my guest version of Vista can not even see the card
ajamison
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 30. Jun 2007, 20:00

Postby stefan.becker » 1. Jul 2007, 08:10

Please read Troble Shooting in der User Doc. You must add the Card manually and you must give a Network Adapter in the Guest Config.
stefan.becker
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7553
Joined: 7. Jun 2007, 21:53

Postby ajamison » 1. Jul 2007, 18:32

Tried that even with it configured in the guest setting the OS can not see it
ajamison
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 30. Jun 2007, 20:00

Postby stefan.becker » 1. Jul 2007, 20:29

Sorry, you must give concrete Infos how you have done this, step by step.

Have you read the Section of the doc?
stefan.becker
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7553
Joined: 7. Jun 2007, 21:53

Postby ajamison » 1. Jul 2007, 21:58

Yes first I tried to load the windows drivers for my card that did not work so I tried the steps in the documentation on this site and that still did not work.

I then tried all 3 possible options for setting up a network card and that did not work. In VMWare I had similar problems and needed to install VMtools which installed the drivers. Is there something similar to that for Virtual Box
ajamison
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 30. Jun 2007, 20:00

Postby stefan.becker » 1. Jul 2007, 22:44

Guest Additions?!
stefan.becker
Volunteer
 
Posts: 7553
Joined: 7. Jun 2007, 21:53

Postby ajamison » 2. Jul 2007, 03:54

I will try that see if it works
ajamison
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 30. Jun 2007, 20:00

Postby dave_p_b » 5. Jul 2007, 22:42

Hi

This worked for me http://www.arsgeek.com/?p=1348

Cheers

Dave
dave_p_b
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 12. May 2007, 18:42

Postby Hannes.nz » 11. Jul 2007, 09:38

To fix this problem on my Vista Guest I mounted the Guest Additions "CD" and updated the Network Drivers by browsing to the 'AMD_PCNet' directory on the CD when asked where the driver was. and it worked.
Hannes.nz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 11. Jul 2007, 09:33

Postby jarre » 17. Jul 2007, 21:49

i have the sAME prob but vista hangs wenn i update the driver ! no mater i use the driver from guest addon or the cd image from the driver i load from amd ! even on secure mode cant install the driver as vista hangs !
i have host xp pro, installet ist ultimate
any help?
:cry:
thnaks
jarre
jarre
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 17. Jul 2007, 21:18
Location: switzerland

Postby randomchance » 23. Jul 2007, 17:07

After I installed Vista Ultimate (on Gentoo AMD64 host), I had the same problem with Vista hanging up on me when I updated the network driver. I ended up doing a reset of the guest OS, the I logged back into the admin account I had set up. Device manager told me that the device was installed but not working properly. From device manager, I told windows to uninstall (*not* just disable, but uninstall) the device, intending to reinstall the driver. The NIC then disappeared from the hardware list and I couldn't get it back even if I told it to look for new hardware. So I did a power-off and restart, and lo and behold the NIC came back up, windows prompted me to continue installing the driver, and it worked!! Now I have the (host interface) network up and running normally. I'm not sure how or why, but maybe you could try uninstalling the NIC in device manager and restarting - it worked for me (I think that's what did it anyway...)
Anything worth doing is more trouble than its worth...
randomchance
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 19. Jul 2007, 18:25
Location: Stillwater, OK

Postby jarre » 23. Jul 2007, 18:31

yea ¨! this helps ! great tip !

greetings

jarre
jarre
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 17. Jul 2007, 21:18
Location: switzerland

Postby stmiller » 10. Aug 2007, 02:43

Yeah no need to power off/on. Just uninstall the network device in device manager (not driver- when asked), then scan for hardware changes and it will come up and work.
stmiller
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 5. Aug 2007, 19:28


Return to Windows Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests