Page 1 of 1

Widescreen resolution 1440x900

Posted: 10. Jan 2013, 23:18
by Jchen2013
How do I configure or add custom resolution 1440x900 in guest PC?
Currently it allows me to go up to 1400x1050. I am using the latest version "VirtualBox-4.2.6-82870-Win".

JC

Re: Widescreen resolution 1440x900

Posted: 10. Jan 2013, 23:34
by Perryg
Have you installed the guest additions (in the guest)?

Re: Widescreen resolution 1440x900

Posted: 10. Jan 2013, 23:49
by Jchen2013
Yes.
Guest Additions.PNG
Guest Additions.PNG (18.54 KiB) Viewed 38516 times

Re: Widescreen resolution 1440x900

Posted: 10. Jan 2013, 23:51
by Jchen2013
Max. screen resolution
screen resolution.PNG
screen resolution.PNG (33.57 KiB) Viewed 38516 times

Re: Widescreen resolution 1440x900

Posted: 10. Jan 2013, 23:54
by Perryg
What happens if you use the host+F toggle to go full screen?

Re: Widescreen resolution 1440x900

Posted: 11. Jan 2013, 00:08
by Jchen2013
It changed to 1920x1200. Still cannot set to 1440x900.

Re: Widescreen resolution 1440x900

Posted: 11. Jan 2013, 00:21
by Perryg
See Chapter 9.7 Advanced display configuration in your VirtualBox users manual.

Re: Widescreen resolution 1440x900

Posted: 11. Jan 2013, 00:51
by Jchen2013
I tried the command:

vboxmanage setextradata "VM Name" "CustomVideoMode1" "1440x900x32"

Powered on the VM, nothing changed. How or where do I see the new custom resolution?

Re: Widescreen resolution 1440x900

Posted: 11. Jan 2013, 00:57
by Perryg
vboxmanage setextradata "VM Name" "CustomVideoMode1" "1440x900x32"

Replace "VM Name" with the actual name

Re: Widescreen resolution 1440x900

Posted: 11. Jan 2013, 01:02
by Jchen2013
I did use my VM Name, which it is "Windows XP 32-bit"

Re: Widescreen resolution 1440x900

Posted: 11. Jan 2013, 01:56
by Perryg
With the guest running type this in the hosts terminal.
VBoxManage controlvm "Windows XP 32-bit" setvideomodehint 1440 900 32

Re: Widescreen resolution 1440x900

Posted: 3. Jan 2015, 21:21
by evil_knevil
hi all,

I had the same problems with different setup:

Host OS: Linux Mint 17 Cinnamon 64-bit
Guest OS: Centos 6.6
Virtualbox: Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager 4.3.10_Ubuntu

Solution which worked for me:

1. Install Virtualbox --> Devices, Insert Guest Additions CD image

Code: Select all

    [root@centos6 ~]# cd /media/VBOXADDITIONS_4.3.10_93012/
    ./VBoxLinuxAdditions.run
2. get custom resolution string:

Code: Select all

    [root@centos6 ~]$ cvt 1600 900
    # 1600x900 59.95 Hz (CVT 1.44M9) hsync: 55.99 kHz; pclk: 118.25 MHz Modeline "1600x900_60.00"  118.25  1600 1696 1856 2112  900 903 908 934 -hsync +vsync
3. set custom resolution string:

Code: Select all

    [root@centos6 ~]$ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 64 x 64, current 1024 x 768, maximum 16384 x 16384
    VBOX0 connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
       1024x768       60.0*+   60.0* 
       1600x1200      60.0  
       1440x1050      60.0  
       1280x960       60.0  
       800x600        60.0  
       640x480        60.0  

    [root@centos6 ~]$ xrandr --newmode "1600x900_60.00" 118.25  1600 1696 1856 2112  900 903 908 934 -hsync +vsync

    [root@centos6 ~]$ xrandr --addmode VBOX0 "1600x900_60.00"
4. use normal system administration config dialog to change resolution to 1600 x 900 which was not available before.

HTH,
Magnus

Re: Widescreen resolution 1440x900

Posted: 10. Oct 2015, 05:16
by webtiger
thank you evil_knevil, your solution worked for me ,amazing!

after 4hours struggle, finally i can see the ubuntu application window as a whole , instead of terminal's losing the bottom, firefox starting-up with left-empty screen...


mine :
host OS=win7, guest OS=ubuntu 14.04LTS, virtualbox=5.0.51
evil_knevil wrote:hi all,

I had the same problems with different setup:

Host OS: Linux Mint 17 Cinnamon 64-bit
Guest OS: Centos 6.6
Virtualbox: Oracle VM VirtualBox Manager 4.3.10_Ubuntu

Solution which worked for me:

1. Install Virtualbox --> Devices, Insert Guest Additions CD image

Code: Select all

    [root@centos6 ~]# cd /media/VBOXADDITIONS_4.3.10_93012/
    ./VBoxLinuxAdditions.run
2. get custom resolution string:

Code: Select all

    [root@centos6 ~]$ cvt 1600 900
    # 1600x900 59.95 Hz (CVT 1.44M9) hsync: 55.99 kHz; pclk: 118.25 MHz Modeline "1600x900_60.00"  118.25  1600 1696 1856 2112  900 903 908 934 -hsync +vsync
3. set custom resolution string:

Code: Select all

    [root@centos6 ~]$ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 64 x 64, current 1024 x 768, maximum 16384 x 16384
    VBOX0 connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
       1024x768       60.0*+   60.0* 
       1600x1200      60.0  
       1440x1050      60.0  
       1280x960       60.0  
       800x600        60.0  
       640x480        60.0  

    [root@centos6 ~]$ xrandr --newmode "1600x900_60.00" 118.25  1600 1696 1856 2112  900 903 908 934 -hsync +vsync

    [root@centos6 ~]$ xrandr --addmode VBOX0 "1600x900_60.00"
4. use normal system administration config dialog to change resolution to 1600 x 900 which was not available before.

HTH,
Magnus