Hyper-V in VirtualBox or other ways to run Windows Phone 8

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.

Hyper-V in VirtualBox or other ways to run Windows Phone 8

Postby Andrew Brehm » 15. Nov 2012, 15:11

This article http://www.developer.nokia.com/Community/Wiki/Windows_Phone_8_SDK_on_a_Virtual_Machine_with_Working_Emulator describes how to configure VMware Workstation to support Hyper-V which is required to run the Windows Phone 8 simulator.

Specifically the step "Make sure you select the option “Virtualize Intel VT-x/EPT or ARM-V/RVI”. This is required to be able to run HYPER-V on your virtual machine" is the important part.

Does VirtualBox support a similar mechanism?

If not, what are some other ways to run the Windows Phone 8 SDK?
Andrew Brehm
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 28. Mar 2012, 17:19

Re: Hyper-V in VirtualBox or other ways to run Windows Phone

Postby mpack » 15. Nov 2012, 15:56

Hyper-V is the name of a product. Only Hyper-V supports Hyper-V.

OTOH hardware virtualization support is called VT-x (or AMV-v), and yes, VirtualBox supports it. No, no guest will see it whether or not it's enabled (it's a feature of the host) - and I'd have thought the same was true in VMWare.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 37453
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Hyper-V in VirtualBox or other ways to run Windows Phone

Postby Andrew Brehm » 15. Nov 2012, 16:10

mpack wrote:Hyper-V is the name of a product. Only Hyper-V supports Hyper-V.

OTOH hardware virtualization support is called VT-x (or AMV-v), and yes, VirtualBox supports it. No, no guest will see it whether or not it's enabled (it's a feature of the host) - and I'd have thought the same was true in VMWare.


I guess I wasn't clear enough in my question. I wasn't asking about VTx or AMD-v support in VirtualBox.

Hyper-V, incidentally, does not support Hyper-V. Only bare metal does, or so I thought, but apparently VMware does too (perhaps because of their binary translation feature).

Whether VirtualBox supports (i.e. runs on or requires) VT-x wasn't the question. I was asking whether it is possible, somehow, to run Hyper-V within VirtualBox, since it is required for the Windows Phone SDK and since VMware supports such a configuration (unofficially).

I understand VirtualBox does some binary translation for real mode and ring compression but I am not sure about the extent and whether complete binary translation and hence support for Hyper-V (or other VT-x-using hypervisors) is possible at all. It never mattered to me before.
Andrew Brehm
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 28. Mar 2012, 17:19

Re: Hyper-V in VirtualBox or other ways to run Windows Phone

Postby mpack » 15. Nov 2012, 16:15

AFAIK, there is no hardware feature called Hyper-V. Hyper-V is the name of a VM product, a bare metal hypervisor. The underlying hardware feature is called VT-x, and VirtualBox supports it. You cannot run a VirtualBox VM inside a Hyper-V VM.

I must say that the blog you've found does appear equally confused about terminology: the blurb shows VT-x being enabled, but I'm not sure why the author thought this equivalent to enabling Hyper-V.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 37453
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Hyper-V in VirtualBox or other ways to run Windows Phone

Postby Andrew Brehm » 15. Nov 2012, 22:57

mpack wrote:AFAIK, there is no hardware feature called Hyper-V. Hyper-V is the name of a VM product, a bare metal hypervisor. The underlying hardware feature is called VT-x, and VirtualBox supports it. You cannot run a VirtualBox VM inside a Hyper-V VM.

I must say that the blog you've found does appear equally confused about terminology: the blurb shows VT-x being enabled, but I'm not sure why the author thought this equivalent to enabling Hyper-V.


I really don't know where you got the idea that by "Hyper-V" I was referring to a hardware feature.

The Nokia article I linked to doesn't do that either.

There was also nothing about running a VirtualBox VM inside a Hyper-V VM either.

The article I linked to is not confused. It simply explains how to run Hyper-V in a VMware VM. Apparently using binary translation (I assume) VMware can virtualise VT-x. I wanted to know whether the same feat is possible in VirtualBox.

I didn't refer to a hardware feature as Hyper-V, I didn't talk about running a VirtualBox VM in a Hyper-V VM, I have no idea how you came up with any of those things.
Andrew Brehm
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 28. Mar 2012, 17:19

Re: Hyper-V in VirtualBox or other ways to run Windows Phone

Postby BillG » 16. Nov 2012, 07:50

Short answer, no. VirtualBox does not support nested virtualization (ie you cannot run virtualization software in a virtual machine).

There is a discussion on running a virtualizer in a vm here.

https://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=20589
Bill
BillG
Volunteer
 
Posts: 5033
Joined: 19. Sep 2009, 04:44
Location: Sydney, Australia
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows 7,8,Server

Re: Hyper-V in VirtualBox or other ways to run Windows Phone

Postby Petr Vones » 27. Dec 2012, 01:24

Actually there are more blocking issues. Microsoft states that "There are known compatability issues for XAML designer when running in Virtual Box, we don't support this scenario."
Petr Vones
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 27. Dec 2012, 01:20
Location: Czech Republic
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows 10 64-bit

Re: Hyper-V in VirtualBox or other ways to run Windows Phone

Postby noteirak » 27. Dec 2012, 02:43

What you are asking is : "Can I run into a Virtualisation product another Virtualisation product from another editor?"
There will always be only one answer : Not supported, never will be supported.
Hyperbox - Virtual Infrastructure Manager - https://kamax.io/hbox/
Manage your VirtualBox infrastructure the free way!
noteirak
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: 13. Jan 2012, 11:14
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Debian, Win 2k8, Win 7

Re: Hyper-V in VirtualBox or other ways to run Windows Phone

Postby i686 » 13. Apr 2013, 08:13

Late post, but i thought it might be interesting for some people. (Maybe, maybe not, who knows...)

Anyway, nested virtualization has been supported in ESXi and VMWare workstation for a long time. Those are the only type1 and type2 (respectively) hypervisors i know of p.t. that supports this. For many sysadmins (me included) this is a vital feature that will allow us to test different scenarios without having to ask our bosses (at work or at home ;-) ) to spend anything from a few thousand to tens of thousands on hardware for creating a test platform for hypervisors. Those of you who have been working as sysadmins for some years know the need for having a good testing environment to test stuff before putting it into prod. So virtualized vt-x must and will come. I always used virtualbox, even after oracle bought it and am very happy with it, but i'm seriously considering switching to vmware and buy a license only because of this feature (must use workstation because i have to much ram... bummer... ).

And thats the way the cookie crumbles...
i686
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 13. Apr 2013, 08:03

Re: Hyper-V in VirtualBox or other ways to run Windows Phone

Postby midix » 15. Nov 2014, 19:12

I have been running Windows Phone 8 emulator in VMWare Player without problems. Yes, it required manual editing of .vmx file, but is works reliably and without any problems at all.

I really miss this feature on VirtualBox because I find VMWare Player to be bloated and it slows the host system down much more than VirtualBox does.
midix
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 8. Oct 2012, 14:32


Return to Windows Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests