Page 23 of 46

Re: Windows 8?

PostPosted: 2. Jun 2012, 21:44
by RomikB
rseiler wrote:To save me from scrutinizing the log, did you change any of the defaults? You shouldn't need to change a single one of them if you chose Windows 8 when setting up. If you didn't, I don't see how your results could be different than mine.

I change nothing, all by default for windows 8 (32 bit).

Re: Windows 8?

PostPosted: 2. Jun 2012, 22:13
by rseiler
It must be something the pickier RP doesn't like about your host then, such as what many people have been seeing unrelated to virtualization:
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 2d237b0edb

Maybe your NX/PAE is disabled on the host, though if that's the case I doubt that Vbox would allow you to enable it in its settings.

More detail here:
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 805a2d95ef

A key part in a post there: setup.exe found in the \sources directory of the Windows DVD does not perform the NX/SSE2 checks...

Re: Windows 8?

PostPosted: 3. Jun 2012, 09:18
by RomikB
To resolve this error, follow manufacturer guidelines to enable NX (“No eXecute bit”), or the equivalent XD (“eXecute Disabled”) feature, within the BIOS security settings.

After enabling this feature, windows 8 start booting in virtualbox.
On clean install on physical PC windows 8 can install when this feature disabled.

Re: Windows 8?

PostPosted: 4. Jun 2012, 15:38
by Andre.Ziegler
ok, after you have Windows 8 installed, can you please check if you also have crashes of Application (Explorer.exe, IE, WiNSAT) inside the Win8 VM?

Re: Windows 8?

PostPosted: 4. Jun 2012, 20:40
by Legolas
I had perfect results in all the Windows 8 versions and now in the Release I had bad results. I re-installed and didn't use VBox Additions and all is well. Yeah!

Re: Windows 8?

PostPosted: 4. Jun 2012, 22:59
by RomikB
Same results, without additions all good, but not optimal graphics.

Re: Windows 8?

PostPosted: 4. Jun 2012, 23:10
by Vjetar
Everything was working fine here with Windows 8 x64 both DP and CP and GA until VirtualBox 4.1.16.
After upgrade from previous version of VirtualBox (4.1.14 AFAIR) I didn't succeed to get login screen.
I made instalation W/O guest additions and all was fine. If I install GA, there is no login screen, just green background.

Host is Windows 7 Ultimate x64.

Re: Windows 8?

PostPosted: 5. Jun 2012, 01:44
by loukingjr
I just installed W8 PR with the guest additions and except for an occasional blanking of the screen it seems to be working.

IE10 does occasionally say it's crashed but if I dismiss the crash dialog window it continues to work.

Re: Windows 8?

PostPosted: 5. Jun 2012, 01:55
by rseiler
You must have done one of the tricks mentioned earlier in the thread to get additions working. Which one did you try? I don't really want to spend a couple hours figuring it out again.

Re: Windows 8?

PostPosted: 5. Jun 2012, 02:00
by loukingjr
rseiler wrote:You must have done one of the tricks mentioned earlier in the thread to get additions working. Which one did you try? I don't really want to spend a couple hours figuring it out again.

I didn't use any tricks. I downloaded the .iso. Installed it as a guest. I'm on a Mac if that changes anything.

Re: Windows 8?

PostPosted: 5. Jun 2012, 17:09
by stevemaser
I am running 4.1.16 on a Mac Host. I am able to install both the 32 and 64-bit Windows 8 Preview releases without issue (using the default "Windows 8" settings -- at least I believe they are the defaults).

Both 32 and 64-bit preview releases seem fine -- until I install the Guest Additions.


On both systems, after the Guest Additions are installed and I finish to "Reboot now" -- if I immediately hit "Finish" to reboot -- I get an Explorer error. If I reinstall Windows 8 into a clean VM and *wait* when the reboot screen is up for a while before clicking "Finish", then there is no Explorer error when I reboot.

However, the Windows 8 OS -- performs very sluggishly with the guest additions installed. I'm not getting any errors, but everything seems to be hesitating when comparing to running things *without* the Guest Additions installed.

Re: Windows 8?

PostPosted: 5. Jun 2012, 17:14
by loukingjr
stevemaser wrote:I am running 4.1.16 on a Mac Host. I am able to install both the 32 and 64-bit Windows 8 Preview releases without issue (using the default "Windows 8" settings -- at least I believe they are the defaults).

Both 32 and 64-bit preview releases seem fine -- until I install the Guest Additions.


On both systems, after the Guest Additions are installed and I finish to "Reboot now" -- if I immediately hit "Finish" to reboot -- I get an Explorer error. If I reinstall Windows 8 into a clean VM and *wait* when the reboot screen is up for a while before clicking "Finish", then there is no Explorer error when I reboot.

However, the Windows 8 OS -- performs very sluggishly with the guest additions installed. I'm not getting any errors, but everything seems to be hesitating when comparing to running things *without* the Guest Additions installed.

well, it doesn't seem sluggish to me but, any guest would be faster without emulating 3D graphics etc. no GA's, no Aero.

Re: Windows 8?

PostPosted: 5. Jun 2012, 17:23
by stevemaser
The point I wanted to make is that things are different with the Win8 *Preview Release* than they were with the two previous public seed releases.

For me, just clicking any Metro icon (after installing the Guest additions) takes a noticeable amount of time longer than it did before installing the guest additions.

Or moving the cursor down to the bottom of the metro screen takes extra time before the scroll bar appears.

Stuff like that. Very noticeable on my machine after installing the guest additions.

Re: Windows 8?

PostPosted: 5. Jun 2012, 18:18
by misha
For those seeing slowdowns with Metro interface with Windows 8 Release Preview: VBox 4.1.16 was not tested against Win8 Release Preview for obvious reasons, and we indeed reproduced the slowdown issue and are now working on solving it.

Re: Windows 8?

PostPosted: 5. Jun 2012, 18:29
by rseiler
Thanks, though I don't think most of us (i.e. non-Mac users) have actually seen that phenomenon, since if the previous post is representative, it relates to having extensions installed, and that was (in the Consumer Preview) and is (in the Release preview) close to impossible to do.