Windows 8?

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.

Re: Windows 8?

Postby misha » 21. Jun 2012, 11:05

Perryg wrote:Yup works but video is flakey. Blacks out for a bit and comes back at short entervals (1 to 3 minutes)..

How do you play video: with WMP or with Metro Video player or whatever?
misha
 
Posts: 289
Joined: 19. Dec 2008, 11:10

Re: Windows 8?

Postby primus » 21. Jun 2012, 13:15

Hey,

Is it possible to make OSX build available too? Looks like earlier versions have problems with this new Win8 preview version..


Thanks,

--Mikko
--p
primus
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 21. Jun 2012, 13:12
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows 8 x64

Re: Windows 8?

Postby misha » 21. Jun 2012, 13:42

primus wrote:Is it possible to make OSX build available too? Looks like earlier versions have problems with this new Win8 preview version..

Here it is:

!!!NOTE that this is a trunk build, which may not be stable since trunk is under a heavy development now, so use it for testing purposes only!!!

http://www.virtualbox.org/download/test ... 94-OSX.dmg
misha
 
Posts: 289
Joined: 19. Dec 2008, 11:10

Re: Windows 8?

Postby Perryg » 21. Jun 2012, 14:32

misha wrote:
Perryg wrote:Yup works but video is flakey. Blacks out for a bit and comes back at short entervals (1 to 3 minutes)..

How do you play video: with WMP or with Metro Video player or whatever?


Actually the video I am referring to is the desktop. Not playing anything in a player.

Note: This only happened with processor count set to 2. If set to one the screen is not flakey.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Windows 8?

Postby misha » 21. Jun 2012, 14:49

Perryg wrote:Yup works but video is flakey. Blacks out for a bit and comes back at short entervals (1 to 3 minutes)..

Oh, 1-3 minutes? That does not seem to be short intervals.. did you mean to say "seconds"?
Perryg wrote:..Corresponds to OpenGL errors in log file..

What gl errors (warnings) in the log do you think correspond to screen flikery, "OpenGL Warning: Cleared gl error 0x506 on context creation" ?
misha
 
Posts: 289
Joined: 19. Dec 2008, 11:10

Re: Windows 8?

Postby Perryg » 21. Jun 2012, 15:14

misha wrote:
Perryg wrote:Yup works but video is flakey. Blacks out for a bit and comes back at short entervals (1 to 3 minutes)..

Oh, 1-3 minutes? That does not seem to be short intervals.. did you mean to say "seconds"?
Perryg wrote:..Corresponds to OpenGL errors in log file..

What gl errors (warnings) in the log do you think correspond to screen flikery, "OpenGL Warning: Cleared gl error 0x506 on context creation" ?

After a period of 1 to 3 minutes the screen goes totally black for a few seconds (less than a minute) then returns. There seems to be heavy disk activity during this time, but other than that the screen is totally black. Looking at the logs it seems that the time it goes black corresponds to the gl errors and the clearing of said errors. This happens over and over again but not at exact time intervals. It can be between 1 or 3 minutes. I will generate a log with 1 processor later today so you can compare.

Log from 1 processor:
Win-8-rel-2012-06-20-16-20-40-1cpu.log
(100.72 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Windows 8?

Postby misha » 21. Jun 2012, 15:47

Perryg wrote:..After a period of 1 to 3 minutes the screen goes totally black for a few seconds (less than a minute) then returns..

What do you do in guest when it flikers? i.e. what apps do you have started, e.g. IE, explorer windows, whatever.. ?
I'm just interested where those context creations come from. Could you check (via task manager) whether you have WinSAT.exe running while it flickers and whether the flickering stops after winsat completes/gets terminated?
misha
 
Posts: 289
Joined: 19. Dec 2008, 11:10

Re: Windows 8?

Postby Perryg » 21. Jun 2012, 15:53

I will run these tests later today and let you know. Internet provider is here in a bit to work on my connection.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Windows 8?

Postby misha » 21. Jun 2012, 15:54

RBL3 wrote:.. if you run the Simulator inside Visual Studio to debug a Metro app the screen goes blank and there is no way to go back to Windows 8.
.. The Marketplace test kit does not work with guest additions installed either.

I'm installing a Visual Studio 2012 Ultimate in both Win8_64 and Win8_32 guests currently to try it out..
Meanwhile could you please provide me with exact steps to reproduce your issues? Frankly, I'm not deeply familiar with that Simulator and Marketplace test kit stuff..
Please also specify whether you're running 32bit or 64bit Win8 version. VM log would be useful as well..
misha
 
Posts: 289
Joined: 19. Dec 2008, 11:10

Re: Windows 8?

Postby RBL3 » 21. Jun 2012, 16:32

misha,

I have attached my log. Look for errors above the "Changing the VM state from 'RUNNING' to 'POWERING_OFF'." message as this is where I had to just shut down the VM.

To reproduce the error in visual studio...
(I am running 32Bit with GA installed)
1. Download one of the sample Metro Apps from Microsoft
2. Open the Solution file (SLN)
3. Change the Debug mode from Local Machine to Simulator (there is a drop down arrow next to the debug method on the toolbar)
3. Run application is debug mode.
4 Simulator will begin to start and then the screen will go blank
Attachments
Windows 8-2012-06-20-16-55-08.log
(95.09 KiB) Downloaded 18 times
RBL3
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 20. Jun 2012, 16:57

Re: Windows 8?

Postby Perryg » 21. Jun 2012, 17:01

misha wrote:
Perryg wrote:..After a period of 1 to 3 minutes the screen goes totally black for a few seconds (less than a minute) then returns..

What do you do in guest when it flikers? i.e. what apps do you have started, e.g. IE, explorer windows, whatever.. ?
I'm just interested where those context creations come from. Could you check (via task manager) whether you have WinSAT.exe running while it flickers and whether the flickering stops after winsat completes/gets terminated?


Well you nailed this one. Looks like Windows was in fact running the assessment test over and over again. Once I set it to 1 processor and it finally finished, then switch to 2 processors it worked just fine. I tried to manually run the assessment and it also worked which tells me the actual performance test is what was probably the real issue. I guess that Windows saw the change in GAs and decided to run the tests again.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 34373
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX

Re: Windows 8?

Postby Jimmy123 » 21. Jun 2012, 19:32

hi guys,

i had the flikkering to in win8 x86
especially when i used IE 10
when i set hardware acceleration in IE 10 to software rendering, it inproved immediatly
also i disabeld hardware acceleration in the flash plugin, that helped for youtube movies
Jimmy
Jimmy123
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 29. Dec 2010, 22:37
Primary OS: MS Windows Vista
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP

Re: Windows 8?

Postby boydd_uk » 21. Jun 2012, 19:56

Thanks Misha,

Everything works fine for me with 3d acceleration off, when it is turned on there are block artifacts which flicker on the screen.

Nice to see Microsoft has release next window driver, touchscreen support really gives you a feel for the new os.
boydd_uk
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 17. Jun 2012, 19:53

Re: Windows 8?

Postby Cooperdale » 21. Jun 2012, 21:49

With the latest official version nothing changes for me, the screen constantly flashes when using the aero interface. It blinks from black to brown, parts of the UI disappear and then reappear...
Cooperdale
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 9. Apr 2009, 14:19
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows 8

Re: Windows 8?

Postby misha » 21. Jun 2012, 21:55

Perryg wrote:Well you nailed this one. Looks like Windows was in fact running the assessment test over and over again. Once I set it to 1 processor and it finally finished, then switch to 2 processors it worked just fine. I tried to manually run the assessment and it also worked which tells me the actual performance test is what was probably the real issue. I guess that Windows saw the change in GAs and decided to run the tests again.

Thanks for the info! It should not flash while running the assessment, and I have some ideas why it flashes and how to prevent that. Will have a look into that..
misha
 
Posts: 289
Joined: 19. Dec 2008, 11:10

PreviousNext

Return to Windows Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests