toolbar status grow and waste space

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.

toolbar status grow and waste space

Postby Wakou » 13. Oct 2009, 13:42

When working in windows, within an openSuse guest, if I "slide away" the openSuse panel (taskbar) to give me more screen estate, the vbox top and bottom toobar and status bar grow to use up and waste the extra space!
So, Before:
Image


And after.....


Image
openSuse 11.1; KDE 3.5.1; Athlon 3400; 2Gb RAM; GPU nVidia 6150 IGP; VBOX 3.0.8;
Guest MS Win XP sp3 870Mb RAM; 128Mb graphics Mem
Wakou
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 6. Apr 2009, 13:44
Primary OS: openSUSE
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win XP sp3

Re: toolbar status grow and waste space

Postby Sasquatch » 13. Oct 2009, 14:02

How strange. Does it change if you force a refresh of the VBox window, e.g. changing the size of the window or switch to full screen and back? If you have more evidence and you can reproduce it all the time, please report it with as much info as possible in the Bugtracker (separate account needed).
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Re: toolbar status grow and waste space

Postby Wakou » 13. Oct 2009, 18:52

Sasquatch wrote:How strange. Does it change if you force a refresh of the VBox window, e.g. changing the size of the window or switch to full screen and back?

No Sasquatch, there is no change when toggling Fullscreen etc....
Sasquatch wrote:If you have more evidence and you can reproduce it all the time, please report it with as much info as possible in the Bugtracker (separate account needed).


I will file bug report when I have time, TY
openSuse 11.1; KDE 3.5.1; Athlon 3400; 2Gb RAM; GPU nVidia 6150 IGP; VBOX 3.0.8;
Guest MS Win XP sp3 870Mb RAM; 128Mb graphics Mem
Wakou
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 6. Apr 2009, 13:44
Primary OS: openSUSE
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win XP sp3

Re: toolbar status grow and waste space

Postby Perryg » 13. Oct 2009, 20:08

Instead of hitting the full screen button on Windows, have you tried the VBox host+F toggle to go full screen?
Nothing wasted there.
Perryg
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25959
Joined: 6. Sep 2008, 22:55
Primary OS: Linux other
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: *NIX - Other

Re: toolbar status grow and waste space

Postby Wakou » 14. Oct 2009, 13:03

Perryg wrote:Instead of hitting the full screen button on Windows, have you tried the VBox host+F toggle to go full screen?
Nothing wasted there.


Indeed not Perry, I am sure that there are various ways I could "workaround" this issue, seamless mode for instance, but the way I use vBox, i am constantly switching between linux and XP, & feel that this is a "mini-bug" within vBox itself, so I thought it worth reporting here.
openSuse 11.1; KDE 3.5.1; Athlon 3400; 2Gb RAM; GPU nVidia 6150 IGP; VBOX 3.0.8;
Guest MS Win XP sp3 870Mb RAM; 128Mb graphics Mem
Wakou
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 6. Apr 2009, 13:44
Primary OS: openSUSE
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win XP sp3

Re: toolbar status grow and waste space

Postby Wakou » 15. Oct 2009, 16:07

bug report #5231 submitted
openSuse 11.1; KDE 3.5.1; Athlon 3400; 2Gb RAM; GPU nVidia 6150 IGP; VBOX 3.0.8;
Guest MS Win XP sp3 870Mb RAM; 128Mb graphics Mem
Wakou
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 6. Apr 2009, 13:44
Primary OS: openSUSE
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win XP sp3


Return to Windows Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JeZ-l-Lee and 21 guests