No bootable medium found!! PLEASE PLEASE HELP!

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.

No bootable medium found!! PLEASE PLEASE HELP!

Postby phornax » 3. Sep 2007, 03:26

Im trying to install windows xp pro and i get this error when i try to edit it...

There is NO device in the tab where "Host CD/DVD Drive" is.I got the CD in.

please help.
Last edited by phornax on 3. Sep 2007, 18:36, edited 1 time in total.
phornax
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 20. Aug 2007, 20:11

Postby Ingo » 3. Sep 2007, 12:34

Do you mounted the CD (Settings... CD/DVD-ROM) before starting the VM?
Ingo
Volunteer
 
Posts: 731
Joined: 22. Aug 2007, 10:13
Location: Germany

Postby phornax » 3. Sep 2007, 16:32

No.Not sure howto there.

Anyway, when i logged in as root it was there.
What do i have to do to make my user use it? :D
thank you for reply.
phornax
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 20. Aug 2007, 20:11

Postby Ingo » 3. Sep 2007, 17:11

I do not really understand what you mean.
The normal way for me to install WinXP Pro into the virtual machine is to put the Installation CD into the CD drive of the host and mount it thru VirtualBox GUI Settings... CD/DVD-ROM, Mount CD/DVD Drive, Host CD/DVD Drive <device>.
Then starting the VM an "press any key to boot from CD...". Then its going on the normal way.
Ingo
Volunteer
 
Posts: 731
Joined: 22. Aug 2007, 10:13
Location: Germany

Postby phornax » 3. Sep 2007, 17:22

yeah, but there is no device in the Device tab.The /dev/cdrom is not in /etc/fstab or mtab either.
Can i just add it there or what command should i use?


ls -al /dev/cd*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 Sep 2 20:54 /dev/cdrom -> hda
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 Sep 2 20:54 /dev/cdrw -> hda


mount /dev/hda /dev/cdrom
mount: No medium found
phornax
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 20. Aug 2007, 20:11

Postby phornax » 3. Sep 2007, 18:08

df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3 90G 9.7G 76G 12% /
udev 10M 192K 9.9M 2% /dev
/dev/sda1 99M 33M 61M 36% /boot
none 504M 0 504M 0% /dev/shm

What(and how) can i actually add here without break the whole comp?
phornax
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 20. Aug 2007, 20:11

Postby Ingo » 3. Sep 2007, 20:24

Oohh...
this is not a Windows Guests problem. It may be a problem with your host operating system. I'm afraid we are off topic now. If so
you have to fix it without any attempts with VirtualBox.
Do you ever mount a data CD in your CD-ROM drive?
Do you saw its contents?
Do you have automount?
Maybe its already mounted and VirtualBox can't mount it again. What does mount shows you? Is there a mouted CD device? Something like
/dev/hda on /media/cdrom0 ... or so?
Then do
pumount /media/cdrom0 or pumount /dev/hda (if this works on your OS).
What can you find with dmesg | less regarding the CD device?
Devices named sr0: or scd0: or hdc: are typical here. The device /dev/cdrom is often only a symbolic link to one of these devices. As you show your /dev/cdrom is linked to /dev/hda. Put a normal data CD into your CD-ROM drive and try to mount it with
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
$ mkdir mnt
$ sudo mount /dev/hda mnt
or
$ sudo mount -t iso9660 /dev/hda mnt
$ sudo ls mnt
$ sudo umount mnt

Try to use /dev/cdrom instead of /dev/hda.
If all of this works then I don't know at the moment what's wrong with your VirtualBox GUI. Please tell me what are your results. You can send a private message (it's off topic).
Ingo
Volunteer
 
Posts: 731
Joined: 22. Aug 2007, 10:13
Location: Germany

Postby phornax » 4. Sep 2007, 03:48

hey thank you for reply! :D suddenly after i changed some things in fstab, i got it to work with hda, but its not satisfied, but at least i got it installed.

Now...if you know anyhting about mount WD/My Book usb i would be SO happy hehe
phornax
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 20. Aug 2007, 20:11


Return to Windows Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests