Page 1 of 1

VMX root mode

PostPosted: 29. Dec 2008, 00:49
by cuedai
Hi I'll just start out by saying i did try to see if other threads had help but im trying to run win xp on my pc (with ubuntu 8.10) and keep getting this error if soeone could help i'd really appreacieacte


VirtualBox can't operate in VMX root mode. Please disable the KVM kernel extension, recompile your kernel and reboot (VERR_VMX_IN_VMX_ROOT_MODE).


Result Code:
NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005)
Component:
Console
Interface:
IConsole {e3c6d4a1-a935-47ca-b16d-f9e9c496e53e}

Thanks to all who can help

PostPosted: 29. Dec 2008, 12:00
by towo
sudo modprobe -r kvm-intel
sudo modprobe -r kvm-amd

Depends on your CPU.

PostPosted: 29. Dec 2008, 18:36
by TerryE
KVM is an optional virtualisation layer that is in effect an alternative to Virtualbox. Alternative = you can't run both.

Re: VMX root mode

PostPosted: 11. Feb 2010, 19:21
by jbpinson
Thanks to "towo" for helping resolve that problem. I now have another problem, though.
When I go to start my virtual machine VirtualBox reads:

GRUB Loading stage1.5.
GRUB loading, please wait...
Error 22
_

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Ben

Re: VMX root mode

PostPosted: 11. Feb 2010, 23:31
by towo
22 : No such partition
This error is returned if a partition is requested in the device part of a device- or full file name which isn't on the selected disk.

This is not a vbox-problem, it's a wrong configured grub in your guest-os.

Re: VMX root mode

PostPosted: 27. Feb 2010, 22:16
by jbpinson
hmmm. I see. What do you think I should I do? :(

Basically, I used Acronis True Image... software to clone my Windows system. Then, I used the Acronis software again to create a .vmdk file.
Now, I'm getting this error I mentioned before.

I guess I should contact Acronis Customer support?
I will let you guys know if I learn anything.

Re: VMX root mode

PostPosted: 15. Oct 2010, 03:49
by goodrick
towo - You rock. I had the same issue. I was curious as to whether or not VirtualBox and VMware could coexist on my Ubuntu 10.04 box (obviously not running VMs at the same time). The problem cropped up after installing VMware Player 3.1. I uninstalled VMware Player and ran the command and I am back in VirtualBox heaven. Now I just have to subdue the curiosity to reinstall VMware, run the command again and see if they will coexist (again, not running VMs at the same time). I merely want the ability to play with both to compare/contrast. Must... leave... good.... enough.... alone.... :x

Re: VMX root mode

PostPosted: 16. Oct 2010, 15:46
by Sasquatch
jbpinson wrote:hmmm. I see. What do you think I should I do? :(

Basically, I used Acronis True Image... software to clone my Windows system. Then, I used the Acronis software again to create a .vmdk file.
Now, I'm getting this error I mentioned before.

I guess I should contact Acronis Customer support?
I will let you guys know if I learn anything.

Install Grub again with the recovery mode of the install disc for the distribution you're trying to run.

goodrick wrote:towo - You rock. I had the same issue. I was curious as to whether or not VirtualBox and VMware could coexist on my Ubuntu 10.04 box (obviously not running VMs at the same time). The problem cropped up after installing VMware Player 3.1. I uninstalled VMware Player and ran the command and I am back in VirtualBox heaven. Now I just have to subdue the curiosity to reinstall VMware, run the command again and see if they will coexist (again, not running VMs at the same time). I merely want the ability to play with both to compare/contrast. Must... leave... good.... enough.... alone.... :x

If you install VMware first, then VB, there should be no problem having both on the system at once but run separately. Both are a type-2 hypervisor and should only use VMX when they need to. Neither lock it when they aren't running. At least, VB doesn't, but who knows what dirty hacks VMWare uses. They already make you hack around some kernel things in order to run properly, or run at all.