Samba share not showing in Win 10 guest

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.
FlexMcMurphy

Samba share not showing in Win 10 guest

Post by FlexMcMurphy »

Hello,

My laptop has:
Host=Manjaro
Guest=Win 10

I have a few other devices on the same LAN.
Two of them, and their Samba shares, are auto-populating in the Win 10 Guest Network Neighbourhood
I have a Raspberry Pi with Samba shares that does not appear there but strangely it DOES appear in the Network Neighbourhood when I boot in to a Win 10 bare metal install.
The Virtualbox Network Settings of the Win 10 VM are set to "Bridged Adapter" and point to the correct Wifi adapter so I have network connectivity from the Win 10 guest to the lan and can ping the Pi.

The Pi has Samba server with some shares and using SMB3 protocol.
I use wsdd to make these shares auto-populate the Win 10 Network Neighbourhood and as mentioned, this is working from a Win 10 bare metal install but not in the Win 10 VM.

I CAN "Map-network drive" to that Pi and the Samba shares are accessible from the Win 10 VM.

Why does the Pi not auto-populate in the Win 10 VM Network Neighbourhood?
I tried restarting the Pi (the wsdd and samba services there) and other troubleshooting tips in this helpful blog.
E.g:
In Windows VM "Services":
"Function Discovery Provider Host” => Set : Startup Type => Automatic
"Function Discovery Resource Publication” => Set : Startup Type => Automatic (Delayed Start)
Then rebooted the Win 10 VM.
I tried disabling the Win 10 VM firewall, no joy.

I may have over-looked something but so far so not so good. I'm guessing this is a setting in the Win 10 VM OS installation or maybe in the network setup in Virtualbox?

Any help much appreciated.

Flex
mpack
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Samba share not showing in Win 10 guest

Post by mpack »