Win10 guest on Win7 host Shared Clipboard not working

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.
FeriM

Win10 guest on Win7 host Shared Clipboard not working

Post by FeriM »

Started some experimenting with a Win 10 guest on a Win 7 host.
Version 6.1.40 r154048 (Qt5.6.2)
Using a Windows user with the same name on both OSes, with administrative rights. UAC is disabled (set to Never Notify).
Installed the Guest Additions, set the Shared Clipboard to bidirectional (actually uninstalled/reinstalled it a few times, no change). Mouse and screen resolution enhancements work fine.
The issue is that Shared Clipboard does not work neither way, at all.
(Copy and Paste behavior is also inconsistent, some freezes, does not release lock on the copied folder, does not handle overwrites but that's another story)
I am new to VBox but I guess attached log may help.
Please let me know if you need more info, I am out of ideas and found nothing useful on the subject for the OSes above.
Attachments
Test5-2023-01-13-01-56-58.log
(88.51 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
mpack
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Win10 guest on Win7 host Shared Clipboard not working

Post by mpack »

What exactly are you placing on the shared clipboard? Only images and plain ascii text are supported. Not files, not rich text, and not COM objects such as Excel creates.

Also, are you conflating "drag and drop" with "copy and paste"? I ask because you seem to be discussing "shared clipboard" and "copy/paste" as separate features, when they are in fact two names for the same thing.
FeriM

Post by FeriM »

Indeed, I was trying to find a method to transfer files/folders between the host and the guest :)
Then let me see if I got this correctly: