Windows 98 and DOS

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.
Russell072009

Windows 98 and DOS

Post by Russell072009 »

I am very new to using virtualbox. I have a specific problem and am trying to figure out a way to resolve it. I inherited this problem and am looking for a way out of it using VB. I have a very old CNC machine. The only way I know of to load it is using an old piece of software called procomm v2.01. I currently have it running on a VERY old windows 98 desktop which I also inherited with the controller. I would like to get this program running on a laptop so I at least have a backup if the PC dies. I created a windows 98 VM and found a copy of the software online. Problem I am running in to is it will not run. All I get is a runtime error R6003 divide by 0. I can't figure out what the problem is. I even tried copying the files directly from the desktop to the VM, put everything in exactly the same spot but still get the same error. The only thing I can think of is change the VM processor to emulate an old 386. From what I have found you can specify some hardware in the VM and you can specify a processor but I can't figure out how exactly to do it. If anyone has some advice for me about this it would be greatly appreciated.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Windows 98 and DOS

Post by scottgus1 »

Sounds like a challenging project!

How does the CNC machine and the controlling computer connect? Serial port, parallel port, USB?

There is a way to restrict the CPU type, see viewtopic.php?t=84423. For more info see viewtopic.php?f=4&t=95714#p463792. More web-searching on "change CPU type site:forums.virtualbox.org" might help.

A fresh install of Windows 98 might be necessary for the CPU change to set up correctly. Try making a new VM, running the command, then start the VM and fresh-install 98, then try the CNC machine.