Windows XP Guest

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.
JackWaterhouse

Windows XP Guest

Post by JackWaterhouse »

Hi...

Sorry if this is a well-known issue. I'm new to VirtualBox.

We have some fairly old machines running dedicated tasks under Windows XP.

Is there a way we could create a complete disc image of an XP hard drive - with all the updates and drivers and such we have installed therein - and run that as a guest under VirtualBox?

Thanks.

::Jack
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Windows XP Guest

Post by scottgus1 »

Yes. You're trying a Physical to Virtual, or P2V, and it's been done googolplexes of times. Web-search "XP P2V site:forums.virtualbox.org" for others who have done it, also see How to migrate existing Windows installations to VirtualBox:

In the link above, under "Step By Step Instructions For Windows XP", step 1 re MergeIDE is essential, can't skip it, also the "agp440.sys / intelppm.sys" part above the list. (If you're worried about damaging the running XP PC with these changes, make a full disk image of the PC as a backup. Macrium Reflect Free is good for this.)

Steps 2-4 are out of date. You can replace them with this:
2. install and run Disk2vhd on the XP PC. Make a VHD (not a VHDx) copy of all the XP PC's partitions, saved on a USB drive attached to the PC.
3. Bring the USB drive to the Virtualbox host that will run the XP VM.
4. Use Mpack's CloneVDI to make a VDI clone of the VHD. (VHD has a design error that can cause full loss of the whole drive file under not-so-hard-to-reproduce circumstances.)
Continue with step 5.
mpack
Site Moderator
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Post by mpack »

Can I ask what the "dedicated tasks" are?

If, for example, it involved close control of hardware then that probably isn't going to work well in a VM. Better to buy new (old stock) PCs that XP can still run on, and transfer the XP image onto that (i.e. P2P).