No Administrator Account

Discussions about using Windows guests in VirtualBox.

No Administrator Account

Postby BE » 22. Mar 2023, 19:42

I am not able to activate the Administrator account on my install of Windows 7 using VirtualBox. When I try to do anything needing Admin status, I get a yes button grayed out on pop ups. Any attempts to activate Admin have not worked.
Do you know why this would be?

The notice I get:
admin no.jpg
admin no.jpg (101.08 KiB) Viewed 925 times


What happens if I delve deeper:
net user.jpg
net user.jpg (77 KiB) Viewed 925 times


admin.jpg
admin.jpg (111.19 KiB) Viewed 925 times
Last edited by BE on 22. Mar 2023, 19:59, edited 2 times in total.
BE
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 22. Mar 2023, 19:41

Re: No Administrator Account

Postby towo2099 » 22. Mar 2023, 19:57

Do you know why this would be?

Nothing, that has anything to do with vbox.
towo2099
Volunteer
 
Posts: 357
Joined: 18. Aug 2014, 21:53
Primary OS: Debian Sid
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Android, Linux

Re: No Administrator Account

Postby scottgus1 » 22. Mar 2023, 20:02

As Towo2099 says, this is not something caused by Virtualbox. You'll need to web-search Windows help channels to fix this.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 18782
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: No Administrator Account

Postby BE » 22. Mar 2023, 20:21

I have scoured the internet to no avail.

The folks I got the OEM key from said it is not a problem with their key. Do you think this is true?

One of the issues is that with Virtual Box, I don't have an opportunity within setup to set up the user account. I have read that I could change the administrator setting from "off" to "on" during this setup period.
BE
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 22. Mar 2023, 19:41

Re: No Administrator Account

Postby scottgus1 » 22. Mar 2023, 20:48

Virtualbox basically provide the "hardware" for the OS to run on, just like a regular PC manufacturer. So we're a bit like Dell or HP, but with less bloatware. :lol:

Just as Dell or HP don't have control over what the OS does, neither does Virtualbox. This is definitely an OS problem, not a Virtualbox problem.

BE wrote:with Virtual Box, I don't have an opportunity within setup to set up the user account.

This will be a problem that the OS installer has. Virtualbox doesn't have anything to control the installer. If though you can demonstrate the installer does let you make accounts when running on a real PC but not in Virtualbox, we might have something to go on.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 18782
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: No Administrator Account

Postby fth0 » 23. Mar 2023, 02:44

scottgus1 wrote:Virtualbox doesn't have anything to control the installer.

I'm not so sure, since I don't know how VirtualBox's Unattended Installation works with Windows guests. ;)
fth0
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4730
Joined: 14. Feb 2019, 03:06
Location: Germany
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows 10, ...

Re: No Administrator Account

Postby scottgus1 » 23. Mar 2023, 03:16

True, fth0, thanks! I had thought later to pop back on and mention unattended installation, the forgot about it.

BE, please clarify if you're using Virtualbox's unattended installation system to make this VM.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 18782
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux


Return to Windows Guests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests