RTR3InitEx Failure

Postings relating to old VirtualBox pre-releases

Re: RTR3InitEx Failure

Postby rseiler » 1. Jul 2015, 03:35

Oh no, that means 10159 will break it for me.
rseiler
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 5. Feb 2009, 20:26

Re: RTR3InitEx Failure

Postby Jacob Klein » 6. Jul 2015, 21:36

On Windows 10 Build 10162 x64, with no other AV except Windows Defender...
When I try to use VirtualBox 5.0 RC3 Build 101436, I get the following errors when trying to start a VM.

I have attached the relevant files, including the VBoxStartup log which is probably most important.
And I understand if you don't want to fix it, until Win 10 RTM's in a week or two, but it is my job to report it.

Thanks,
Jacob Klein

------------------------------------------------------------
VirtualBox - Error In supR3HardenedMainInitRun...
RTR3InitEx failed with rc=-1912 (rc=-1912)

Abort
------------------------------------------------------------
Failed to open a session for the virtual machine boinc_0edd09c078d8e867.
The virtual machine 'boinc_0edd09c078d8e867' has terminated unexpectedly during startup with exit code 1 (0x1). More details may be available in 'E:\BOINC Data\slots\19\boinc_0edd09c078d8e867\Logs\VBoxStartup.log'.
Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Component: MachineWrap
Interface: IMachine {703510de-8d5e-411b-a25b-378b03382bac}
------------------------------------------------------------
25e8.26cc: supR3HardenedMonitor_LdrLoadDll: returns rcNt=0x0 hMod=00007ff8b4ad0000 'C:\WINDOWS\system32\crypt32.dll'
25e8.26cc: Error -1912 in supR3HardenedMainInitRuntime! (enmWhat=4)
25e8.26cc: RTR3InitEx failed with rc=-1912

------------------------------------------------------------
Attachments
VirtualBox 5 RC3 - VBoxStartup.zip
(15.23 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
VirtualBox 5 RC3 - UI Error 2.png
VirtualBox 5 RC3 - UI Error 2.png (13.69 KiB) Viewed 6266 times
VirtualBox 5 RC3 - UI Error 1.png
VirtualBox 5 RC3 - UI Error 1.png (5.77 KiB) Viewed 6266 times
Jacob Klein
 
Posts: 526
Joined: 20. Nov 2013, 01:07

Re: RTR3InitEx Failure

Postby Jacob Klein » 10. Jul 2015, 06:04

The exact same behavior is also occurring on Windows 10 Build 10166 x64 (released today), using the official non-beta release of Oracle VirtualBox 5.0.0 r101573 (released today).
I get the following errors when trying to start a VM.

I have attached the relevant files, including the VBoxStartup log which is probably most important.
I understand if you don't want to fix it, until Win 10 RTM's in a week or two, but it is my job to report it.

Thanks,
Jacob Klein

------------------------------------------------------------
VirtualBox - Error in supR3HardenedMainInitRunti...
RTR3InitEx failed with rc=-1912 (rc=-1912)
Abort

------------------------------------------------------------
Failed to open a session for the virtual machine boinc_0edd09c078d8e867.
The virtual machine 'boinc_0edd09c078d8e867' has terminated unexpectedly during startup with exit code 1 (0x1). More details may be available in 'E:\BOINC Data\slots\19\boinc_0edd09c078d8e867\Logs\VBoxStartup.log'.
Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Component: MachineWrap
Interface: IMachine {703510de-8d5e-411b-a25b-378b03382bac}
------------------------------------------------------------
1e50.84c: supR3HardenedMonitor_LdrLoadDll: returns rcNt=0x0 hMod=00007ffacc280000 'C:\WINDOWS\system32\crypt32.dll'
1e50.84c: Error -1912 in supR3HardenedMainInitRuntime! (enmWhat=4)
1e50.84c: RTR3InitEx failed with rc=-1912

------------------------------------------------------------
Attachments
VBoxStartup.zip
(15.17 KiB) Downloaded 34 times
Jacob Klein
 
Posts: 526
Joined: 20. Nov 2013, 01:07

Re: RTR3InitEx Failure

Postby Jacob Klein » 10. Jul 2015, 06:38

Interesting...

https://www.oracle.com/corporate/pressrelease/oracle-vm-virtualbox-5-070915.html
The 5.0 release supports the latest guest or host operating systems including: Mac OS X Yosemite, Windows 10, Oracle Linux, Oracle Solaris, other Linux operating systems, and legacy operating systems.


It's definitely not working for me, on host Windows 10 Build 10166 x64. Are you guys using a newer build than that, in your statement there?
Jacob Klein
 
Posts: 526
Joined: 20. Nov 2013, 01:07

Re: RTR3InitEx Failure

Postby rseiler » 10. Jul 2015, 07:10

There must be another variable (like the kind of Vbox networking you have installed, etc etc), since that was fixed late last month for earlier posters. I have not seen a recurrence even with 10166.

I doubt Oracle will worry about this until RTM next week for the reason mentioned earlier.
rseiler
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 5. Feb 2009, 20:26

Re: RTR3InitEx Failure

Postby Jacob Klein » 10. Jul 2015, 07:23

Would you mind trying the following, on Windows 10 Build 10166?

Uninstall VirtualBox completely
Restart the PC
Install VirtualBox, but choose to not install the 2 networking "subcomponents" (which are Host-Only, and Bridged)... Leave the parent node (regular networking) alone.
Restart the PC
See if VirtualBox can launch your VMs

Thanks,
Jacob
Jacob Klein
 
Posts: 526
Joined: 20. Nov 2013, 01:07

Re: RTR3InitEx Failure

Postby rseiler » 10. Jul 2015, 07:41

I can't right now, but I think that's the same as deselecting the entire networking branch. That's the way I'm running right now. You still get NAT.

You're running the installer as admin, right? If you don't, the drivers that Vbox wants to install, won't. Unfortunately, the installer doesn't automatically ask for admin as most other installers do.
rseiler
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 5. Feb 2009, 20:26

Re: RTR3InitEx Failure

Postby Jacob Klein » 19. Jul 2015, 04:14

The exact same behavior is also occurring for me, on Windows 10 Build 10240 x64, using the official non-beta release of Oracle VirtualBox 5.0.0 r101573.
I get the following errors when trying to start a VM.

I have attached the relevant files, including the VBoxStartup log which is probably most important.
I understand if you don't want to fix it right away, but Win 10 will be generally available in a couple weeks, and it is my job to report this error.

Thanks,
Jacob Klein

------------------------------------------------------------
VirtualBox - Error in supR3HardenedMainInitRunti...
RTR3InitEx failed with rc=-1912 (rc=-1912)

Abort
------------------------------------------------------------
Failed to open a session for the virtual machine boinc_0edd09c078d8e867.
The virtual machine 'boinc_0edd09c078d8e867' has terminated unexpectedly during startup with exit code 1 (0x1). More details may be available in 'E:\BOINC Data\slots\19\boinc_0edd09c078d8e867\Logs\VBoxStartup.log'.
Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Component: MachineWrap
Interface: IMachine {703510de-8d5e-411b-a25b-378b03382bac}
------------------------------------------------------------
1e50.84c: supR3HardenedMonitor_LdrLoadDll: returns rcNt=0x0 hMod=00007ffacc280000 'C:\WINDOWS\system32\crypt32.dll'
1e50.84c: Error -1912 in supR3HardenedMainInitRuntime! (enmWhat=4)
1e50.84c: RTR3InitEx failed with rc=-1912

------------------------------------------------------------
Attachments
VBoxStartup 2.zip
(15.19 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
VBoxStartup 1.zip
(15.16 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
Jacob Klein
 
Posts: 526
Joined: 20. Nov 2013, 01:07

Re: RTR3InitEx Failure

Postby Jacob Klein » 23. Jul 2015, 23:13

Exact same error:
1e50.84c: supR3HardenedMonitor_LdrLoadDll: returns rcNt=0x0 hMod=00007ffacc280000 'C:\WINDOWS\system32\crypt32.dll'
1e50.84c: Error -1912 in supR3HardenedMainInitRuntime! (enmWhat=4)
1e50.84c: RTR3InitEx failed with rc=-1912


Trying to start a VM using:
Windows 10 x64 Build 10240 (RTM)
Oracle VirtualBox v5.0.1 Build 101778 (Test Build)
Jacob Klein
 
Posts: 526
Joined: 20. Nov 2013, 01:07

Re: RTR3InitEx Failure

Postby Jacob Klein » 2. Aug 2015, 00:23

Wanted to chime in with an update:

Using:
Windows 10 Pro x64 Build 10240
HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\BuildLabEx
10240.16393.amd64fre.th1_st1.150717-1719

The following currently DO work for me:
- Oracle VirtualBox v4.3.30 Build 101610
- Oracle VirtualBox v5.0.1 Test Build 101778
- Oracle VirtualBox v5.0.1 Test Build 101883

The following currently DO NOT work for me, and give the "RTR3InitEx failed with rc=-1912" error:
- Oracle VirtualBox v4.3.31 Test Build 101881

I will continue to test, and report results, until the 4.3.x line and the 5.0.x lines are both working properly.

EDIT:
What in the heck.
Now 4.3.31 Test Build 101881 is working.
I'm starting to think that, whatever is causing this issue, is transient.

Any chance an Oracle dev might shed some light on this?
Jacob Klein
 
Posts: 526
Joined: 20. Nov 2013, 01:07

Re: RTR3InitEx Failure

Postby Jacob Klein » 2. Aug 2015, 01:37

After noticing transient occurrences of the problem, across 5.0.x and 4.3.31, I now think the problem may involve installation of an Extension Pack.

It seems to me, that when an Extension Pack is installed (by double-clicking a ".vbox-extpack" file, in File Explorer, while no VirtualBox processes are running), then that Windows session will yield the following errors below on Windows 10 x64, when trying to load a VM, until Windows is restarted. A restart then allows the load to work.

Can a dev please confirm the problem, based on the scenario I've outlined, and please provide a fix?
I'm trying desperately to give you as much information I can, about this finicky problem. And I'm available to test anything, anytime.

Thanks,
Jacob Klein

------------------------------------------------------------
VirtualBox - Error in supR3HardenedMainInitRunti...
RTR3InitEx failed with rc=-1912 (rc=-1912)
Abort
------------------------------------------------------------
1e50.84c: supR3HardenedMonitor_LdrLoadDll: returns rcNt=0x0 hMod=00007ffacc280000 'C:\WINDOWS\system32\crypt32.dll'
1e50.84c: Error -1912 in supR3HardenedMainInitRuntime! (enmWhat=4)
1e50.84c: RTR3InitEx failed with rc=-1912
------------------------------------------------------------
Jacob Klein
 
Posts: 526
Joined: 20. Nov 2013, 01:07

Re: RTR3InitEx Failure

Postby rseiler » 14. Aug 2015, 20:42

Thanks for the tip about a post-Extension Pack reboot, as that did the trick here for 5.0.2, which triggered the problem for the first time since June.

I did attempt to install the extension pack by double-clicking it, as I usually do, but nothing happened when doing that so I installed it from within the program instead. Maybe it doesn't matter how you install it.

Anyway, if not rebooting after that is the cause, I'm not sure that explains why I didn't have to do that for 5.0.0. Maybe there's yet another variable.
rseiler
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 5. Feb 2009, 20:26

Previous

Return to Old Beta Postings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests