[Fixed] Beta2 importing appliance without a hard drive fails

Postings relating to old VirtualBox pre-releases

[Fixed] Beta2 importing appliance without a hard drive fails

Postby mskov » 21. Apr 2015, 16:35

How to reproduce: create a new VM with the default options and choose the setting "Do not add a virtual hard drive". Export the VM into ovf format and try to import it. VirtualBox 5.0.0 beta2 gives an error:

Seeking within the archive failed (VERR_TAR_UNEXPECTED_EOS).

Fehlercode:
VBOX_E_IPRT_ERROR (0x80BB0005)
Komponente:
ApplianceWrap
Interface:
IAppliance {d9432012-2740-499f-b3b3-0991da3679f3}

A sample .ova file is attached.

Best regards,
Mikhail
Attachments
testVM.zip
(2.29 KiB) Downloaded 20 times
mskov
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 10. Jul 2014, 10:18

Re: Beta2 importing appliance without a hard drive fails

Postby vvp » 22. Apr 2015, 16:10

your OVA package is little bit strange. Where did you create OVA package? Windows 7,8.1, Ubuntu, Solaris or something else.
vvp
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 6. Nov 2013, 15:06

Re: Beta2 importing appliance without a hard drive fails

Postby mskov » 23. Apr 2015, 10:39

Windows 7 x64. what's strange about it? is the problem not reproducible ? I've tried to to create .ova packages with both beta2 and with 4.3.26 and in both cases I cannot import them to beta2.
mskov
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 10. Jul 2014, 10:18

Re: Beta2 importing appliance without a hard drive fails

Postby loukingjr » 23. Apr 2015, 11:02

can verify OSX host.
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Failed to import appliance /Users/louis/Documents/Windows XP.ova.

Seeking within the archive failed (VERR_TAR_UNEXPECTED_EOS).

Result Code: VBOX_E_IPRT_ERROR (0x80BB0005)
Component: ApplianceWrap
Interface: IAppliance {d9432012-2740-499f-b3b3-0991da3679f3}


It's interesting the appliance number is identical to the OPs.
OSX, Linux and Windows Hosts & Guests
There are three groups of people. Those that can count and those that can't.
loukingjr
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8827
Joined: 30. Apr 2009, 09:45
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: just about all that run

Re: Beta2 importing appliance without a hard drive fails

Postby michaln » 23. Apr 2015, 11:36

loukingjr wrote:It's interesting the appliance number is identical to the OPs.

If you mean the "Appliance" interface UUID then yes, it's the same everywhere on a particular VirtualBox version. It is not related to anything in the actual appliance, just internal implementation. Whether printing the UUID in the error message is helpful is a different question :D
michaln
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 2958
Joined: 19. Dec 2007, 15:45
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Any and all

Re: Beta2 importing appliance without a hard drive fails

Postby loukingjr » 23. Apr 2015, 11:42

Yes, that's what I meant. :D
OSX, Linux and Windows Hosts & Guests
There are three groups of people. Those that can count and those that can't.
loukingjr
Volunteer
 
Posts: 8827
Joined: 30. Apr 2009, 09:45
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: just about all that run

Re: Beta2 importing appliance without a hard drive fails

Postby frank » 5. May 2015, 12:44

Should be now fixed. The fix will be available in 5.0 Beta 3.
frank
Oracle Corporation
 
Posts: 3362
Joined: 7. Jun 2007, 09:11
Location: Dresden, Germany
Primary OS: Debian Sid
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Linux, Windows


Return to Old Beta Postings

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests