Some issues with Cloning VMs in 4.1 Beta3

Temporary forum to discuss issues and problems during a VirtualBox Beta or Release Candidate phase.

Some issues with Cloning VMs in 4.1 Beta3

Postby diagiman » 16. Jul 2011, 07:18

Hi

There is some bugs in vm clone implementation:
1.When I clone "Current State" of VM having one snapshot - cloned VM has one normal disk image image attached to it, which have "uuided" name and located in snapshots dir.

2. When cloning "Curret machine and all child states", I get a couple of errors:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
Cannot close medium '...Clone.vdi' because it has 1 child media
Storage for medium '...Clone.vdi' is already created
Medium '...Clone\Snapshots\....vdi' cannot be closed because it is still attached to 1 virtual machines
and so on

Unfortunately all these errors are all in single dialog and cannot be "copied" at one
(May be we need some "Copy button" in error dialog or another feedback improving tool)

3.It is ambiguous to use "Current State" for actually current snapshot when cloning. Anyway snapshot corresponds to state, so in Clone a virtual machine can be used these options:
    * Current snapshot
    * Current and all child snapshots
    * All snapshots

In addition I think it would be great if VBox will support making clones of running machine (of course only for snapshots excluding Current state).
Also it would be support of "In place cloning" so VM register dialog had an option to change all conflicting uuids for machine which was manually copied and now conflicts with original one.
diagiman
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 1. Jul 2011, 16:47
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: WinXP, Win7, OpenSUSE, Gentoo

Re: Some issues with Cloning VMs in 4.1 Beta3

Postby mpack » 16. Jul 2011, 14:12

There is no such thing as a current snapshot. A snapshot is a moment frozen in time. The currently active state can't be frozen. If you are going to use the terminology loosely then that's fine - we all do! But, don't do that and then complain that this or that UI wording is inconsistent with your nonsense terminology!
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 13199
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Some issues with Cloning VMs in 4.1 Beta3

Postby diagiman » 17. Jul 2011, 05:16

>There is no such thing as a current snapshot
Yes globally not. But as VBox supports clone VM for currently selected in snapshots page.

We can use "selected snapshot" as well. So terminology must be consistent.
diagiman
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 1. Jul 2011, 16:47
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: WinXP, Win7, OpenSUSE, Gentoo

Re: Some issues with Cloning VMs in 4.1 Beta3

Postby diagiman » 18. Jul 2011, 07:53

Maybe "selected state" and would be most perfect.
diagiman
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 1. Jul 2011, 16:47
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: WinXP, Win7, OpenSUSE, Gentoo


Return to VirtualBox Beta/Release Candidate Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest