Downloaded 3 gb 32 bit W10 ISO file and placed in /opt togehter with Virualbox

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Solaris hosts.

Downloaded 3 gb 32 bit W10 ISO file and placed in /opt togehter with Virualbox

Postby sunburn » 24. Jan 2017, 19:32

Gentlemen


Downloaded 3 gb 32 bit W10 ISO file and placed in /opt togehter with Virualbox

Started VirtualBox Manager ... mashine 1 running w10 32 gb base memory 1024 mb
video memory 128 gb

Can see W10 icon ,but not more ...

------------
1.8 Running virtual mashine
...if you have downloaded installation media from Internet ...

mount the ISO file directly

#######################

How ? mount *ISO /opt ?

##########
Virtualbox will will then present this file as CD or DVD drive to virtual mashine ,much like it foes with virtual hard disk images
sunburn
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 24. Jan 2017, 19:30

Re: Downloaded 3 gb 32 bit W10 ISO file and placed in /opt togehter with Virualbox

Postby mpack » 24. Jan 2017, 20:42

Please post a VM log file. With the VM fully shut down, right click and "Show Log" in the GUI, save "VBox.log" (ONLY) to a zip, and attach the zip here. Feel free to use any convenient compression format if zip is not available.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25459
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Downloaded 3 gb 32 bit W10 ISO file and placed in /opt togehter with Virualbox

Postby sunburn » 24. Jan 2017, 21:38

Dear Sir

Than you for your message ... Have not any zip file have original iso 3 gb from from microsoft
(can not post link )

32 bit aqnd 64 bit 3gb

But for 64 bit must be enabled hardware virtualisation . Knew not how can that check
Downloaded VM listed only 32 bit ...

Installed 64 bit Solaris 11.3 on Sony vgn 31 ,p8600 2*2.4 ghz ,Intel wifi 5100 ,radeon 3470 4gb/256 gb
sunburn
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 24. Jan 2017, 19:30

Re: Downloaded 3 gb 32 bit W10 ISO file and placed in /opt togehter with Virualbox

Postby mpack » 25. Jan 2017, 12:36

Mount the ISO in the VM using the "Storage" panel. Start the VM. If you still have problems then provide a log file as previously described.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25459
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Downloaded 3 gb 32 bit W10 ISO file and placed in /opt togehter with Virualbox

Postby sunburn » 25. Jan 2017, 13:38

Dear Sir

Thank you for your messge

/opt

ls -lsar
jan 19 root bin Virtualbox 40b
jan 23 root root Win10*iso 3.382
jan 25 root root 1 (new virtual mashine
Correct placed ?

Start

Virtualbox&

1 icon of w10 powerede off

Base memory -1024 mb
Boot order Fl,optical,HD
Acceleration PAE/NX Hyper-5 Para

Video mem -128 mb
Remote deskt -disabled
Video capture -disabled

Controller SATA port 0: 1.vdi (normal 32 Gb)
Sata Port 1 (Optical Drive ) Host drive UJ852as (c3td0s2)

Or must be plaqced not host drive in this place ,but ISO file ?
------------------------------
Adapter1 - Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop (NAT)

Correct ?
sunburn
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 24. Jan 2017, 19:30

Re: Downloaded 3 gb 32 bit W10 ISO file and placed in /opt togehter with Virualbox

Postby mpack » 25. Jan 2017, 13:54

mpack wrote:Mount the ISO in the VM using the "Storage" panel

The Storage panel is in the VM settings, in the VirtualBox manager.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 25459
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Downloaded 3 gb 32 bit W10 ISO file and placed in /opt togehter with Virualbox

Postby sunburn » 25. Jan 2017, 13:56

VirtualBox started

1 powered off small icon of w10

Mashine setting

Storage

Controler SATA
1.vdi
Host drive UJ862AS (c3t1d ..)

Optical Drive SATA Port 1
Passthrough -not checked
Hot -plugable - Hot -plugable


start
---------

VT-x/AMD-5 hardware acceleration is not availiable

Close VM Copy Continue

Continue -shell started ,but with english keyboard map (not problem ) on germany keyboard

not "?" but -

Author can simple delete VM1 from opt directory and start new .

But where must be placed iso file ?
How correct perform setting
- How check is p8600 2*24 ghz ,Intel 5100 Wifi ,Radeon 3470 for VM hardware support


Relevant comment would appreciated
sunburn
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 24. Jan 2017, 19:30

Re: Downloaded 3 gb 32 bit W10 ISO file and placed in /opt togehter with Virualbox

Postby sunburn » 25. Jan 2017, 15:07

Some offtop ,excuse the author ,but would very pleased for correct answer

Solaris 11.3 64 bit new
firefox -version ...31.8.0
It is China Oracle developed 32 bit browser ..on 64 solaris

work with youtube ,but some companies -service providers
rejected service

adobe player is old ,please download new ..
adobe site -not support for solaris ,last from 2012 -version 228
------------------------------------------------------
Found and downloaqded in /home /Download from
from link -can not be posted (member -1 day)

firefox 45.4.0esr .source.tar.xz
firefox -45.5.1 esr.en-US.opensolaris-i386.tar.bz2

45 -version ,which used in tor 64 bit browser

Would that work with S-11.3 ?
Are mentioned versions 64 bits?

If would work ,than before install new ,old 31.8.0 must be deleted ?


Relevant comment would appreciated
sunburn
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 24. Jan 2017, 19:30

Re: Downloaded 3 gb 32 bit W10 ISO file and placed in /opt togehter with Virualbox

Postby sunburn » 25. Jan 2017, 16:03

Or that ?


Firefox 38 ReadMe
This directory contains Solaris builds of Firefox 38.7.1 ESR,
which are contributed by Oracle Solaris Desktop Beijing Team.
If you have any problem with these builds, please send email to
ginnchen at gmail dot com
sunburn
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 24. Jan 2017, 19:30

Re: Downloaded 3 gb 32 bit W10 ISO file and placed in /opt togehter with Virualbox

Postby sunburn » 25. Jan 2017, 18:46

Checked video about vm installation

1. It is more heavy task as GUI instalaltion Solaris 11.3 from usb

2. Not found to date any video with installation guest w10 on host Solaris 11.3



Question -Solaris 11.3 have not wpa-supplicant
##########################################
Can not login in university wlan ( can login with ubuntu 64 bit ,Suse 64 bit ,window w10 ,Mac &
where wpa supplicant default ,have id ,passwd )

If installation would performed ...
1. can login to university wlan with guest os wpa supplicant ?
2. If 1 is possible can host OS use guest OS(with wpa supplicant is default) wlan connection ?
######################################################################################


Relevant comment would appreciated

That is format of login wpa suppilcant

network={
ssid="eduroam"
key_mgmt=WPA-EAP
pairwise=CCMP
group=CCMP TKIP
eap=TTLS
ca_cert="${HOME}/ca.pem"
identity="${USER_NAME}"
domain_suffix_match="uni-hamburg.de"
phase2="auth=MSCHAPV2"
password="${PASSWORD}"
anonymous_identity="anonymous@uni-hamburg.de"

Solaris have not ...

Some Sys Adm in USA university tryed to develop that for Solaris 10 ,but it is not task for simple user
##########################################################################################


The George Washington University


ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
ap_scan=0

network={
ssid="prey"
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
psk="<network key>"
}

network={
ssid="GW1X"
key_mgmt=WPA-EAP
eap=TTLS
identity="jameslee"
anonymous_identity="anonymous"
password="<personal password>"
phase2="auth=PAP"
}
sunburn
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 24. Jan 2017, 19:30


Return to VirtualBox on Solaris Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests