VBoxManage list hostinfo (errors)

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Solaris hosts.
Post Reply
djogon
Posts: 10
Joined: 13. Mar 2009, 20:28

VBoxManage list hostinfo (errors)

Post by djogon »

I have a new installation of VirtualBox 4.3.26 on Solaris with Intel Corei5 processor, 3.3GHz

Every time I do

Code: Select all

VBoxManage list hostinfo
I get various errors which prevent some third party libraries to run properly (in this case phpVirtualBox)
I am just worried that this is a bigger issue.

Here is the full output

Code: Select all

VBoxManage list hostinfo
Host Information:

Host time: 2015-04-24T20:00:11.718000000Z
Processor online count: 1
Processor count: 4
Processor online core count: 1
Processor core count: 4
Processor#0 speed: 3300 MHz
VBoxManage: error: Code NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005) - Operation failed (extended info not available)
VBoxManage: error: Context: "GetProcessorDescription(i, processorDescription.asOutParam())" at line 213 of file VBoxManageList.cpp
Processor#0 description:
Processor#1 speed: 3300 MHz
Processor#1 description: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4590 CPU @ 3.30GHz
Processor#2 speed: 3300 MHz
VBoxManage: error: Code NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005) - Operation failed (extended info not available)
VBoxManage: error: Context: "GetProcessorDescription(i, processorDescription.asOutParam())" at line 213 of file VBoxManageList.cpp
Processor#2 description:
Processor#3 speed: 3300 MHz
VBoxManage: error: Code NS_ERROR_FAILURE (0x80004005) - Operation failed (extended info not available)
VBoxManage: error: Context: "GetProcessorDescription(i, processorDescription.asOutParam())" at line 213 of file VBoxManageList.cpp
Processor#3 description:
Memory size: 16241 MByte
Memory available: 12223 MByte
Operating system: SunOS
Operating system version: 5.11
I tried downgrading to version 4.2.12 and 4.2.28, but get the same errors with those versions as well.

Does anyone have any suggestions or knows what this is?

Thanks.
djogon
Posts: 10
Joined: 13. Mar 2009, 20:28

Re: VBoxManage list hostinfo (errors)

Post by djogon »

It turns out that my host system (OpenIndiana - Solaris) had 3 out of my 4 CPU cores in a faulted state. When I re-enabled them - VBoxManage worked just fine.

This is obviously not an issue with VirtualBox, but rather with OpenIndiana.

If you do see this error on your Solaris box run this

Code: Select all

prsinfo
This will list all your cores and show the status. If some of them are offline or faulted - you can bring them back up with

Code: Select all

prsadm -n <core number>
Obviously you have to do this with elevated privileges.
michaln
Oracle Corporation
Posts: 2973
Joined: 19. Dec 2007, 15:45
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Any and all
Contact:

Re: VBoxManage list hostinfo (errors)

Post by michaln »

djogon wrote:I get various errors which prevent some third party libraries to run properly (in this case phpVirtualBox)
You just found a bug in said third party libraries.
Post Reply