Solaris11.1 networking

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Solaris hosts.

Solaris11.1 networking

Postby WolfgangPaulat » 13. Feb 2013, 19:16

Hi,

I've installed Solaris 11.1 on a Dell PowerEdge720R with four network adapters. Using
VirtualBox 4.2.6 with Crossbow / BridgeNetworking everything went fine at first install
of 3 VMs.

If I shutdown any of this VM and start it again I've got no network connection.

If I reboot and netx-Links are in state unknown, everything works again well with
same configuration

Is there any reason for this behavior? Do I have to reboot the server every time I
shutdown a VM?

Reagards

Wolfgang
WolfgangPaulat
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 13. Feb 2013, 19:02

Re: Solaris11.1 networking

Postby martyscholes » 13. Feb 2013, 19:59

We have a Solaris 11.1 host with two aggregated physical NICs which hosts a dozen or so guests. Guests are shutdown and started throughout the day, probably 3 or 4 shutdowns/reboots per day. We are not seeing what you are seeing. Guests are mostly various versions of Windows and various distributions of Linux.

How is the host connected: aggregated links? How are the guests getting a vnic: automatically through VB or through manually created vnics with dladm?

Are you saying if you shut down a guest, the host loses connectivity until the host is rebooted?
martyscholes
 
Posts: 202
Joined: 11. Sep 2011, 00:24
Primary OS: Solaris
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win 7, Ubuntu, Win XP, Vista, Win 8, Mint, Pear, Several Linux Virtual Appliances

Re: Solaris11.1 networking

Postby susu.exp » 13. Feb 2013, 23:45

WolfgangPaulat wrote:Hi,

I've installed Solaris 11.1 on a Dell PowerEdge720R with four network adapters. Using
VirtualBox 4.2.6 with Crossbow / BridgeNetworking everything went fine at first install
of 3 VMs.

If I shutdown any of this VM and start it again I've got no network connection.

If I reboot and netx-Links are in state unknown, everything works again well with
same configuration

Is there any reason for this behavior? Do I have to reboot the server every time I
shutdown a VM?

Reagards

Wolfgang


Need more info...

No networking in the VBox guests? Or host and guests?


What type of networking profile on the Solaris host? NWAM (automatic) or DefaultFixed (manual)?
Are you running the VBox guests in Zones?

If you configured the vnics manually, you may have to use svccfg to refresh the dns client(s) and name-service/switch:

http://blog.allanglesit.com/2012/05/sol ... ng-svccfg/

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E26502_01/htm ... #scrolltoc
susu.exp
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 15. Feb 2012, 09:01

Re: Solaris11.1 networking

Postby WolfgangPaulat » 14. Feb 2013, 10:45

susu.exp wrote:
Need more info...

I was in hurry yesterday evening, so here is information what I#ve done:

Installed Solaris 11.1 with all upgrades; installed VirtualBox 2.4.6; netconfiguration after that:

~# dladm
LINK CLASS MTU STATE OVER
net1 phys 1500 unknown --
net2 phys 1500 up --
net3 phys 1500 unknown --
vboxnet0 phys 1500 up --
net0 phys 1500 unknown --

root@neumann:~# ipadm
NAME CLASS/TYPE STATE UNDER ADDR
lo0 loopback ok -- --
lo0/v4 static ok -- 127.0.0.1/8
lo0/v6 static ok -- ::1/128
net2 ip ok -- --
net2/v4 static ok -- xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/24
net2/v6 addrconf ok -- fe80::e2db:55ff:fe09:1894/10

networking profile is DefautFixed configured by Solaris-installation 'cause I've
configured it with fixed addresses (IP, netmask, nameserver, ...)

Ubuntu-12.04-Server-VMs are installed with following config:

HDDs as *.vdi-file, bridged networking choosing one netx-Link per VM and
netx-Links are not configured using "ipadm create-ip netx" and no vnics are
defined in Solaris; they are created by VirtualBox after starting VMS

Modules:
# modinfo | grep vbox
192 fffffffff7ea95b8 ce0 304 1 vboxnet (VirtualBox NetAdp 4.2.6r82870)
194 fffffffff7f67000 34f00 303 1 vboxdrv (VirtualBox HostDrv 4.2.6r82870)
249 fffffffff8ae9000 3828 305 1 vboxbow (VirtualBox NetBow 4.2.6r82870)
250 fffffffff8aed000 4580 306 1 vboxusbmon (VirtualBox USBMon 4.2.6r82870)
251 fffffffff8af2000 7478 307 1 vboxusb (VirtualBox USB 4.2.6r82870)

after starting all VMs for the first time, everything works fine with this:

# dladm
LINK CLASS MTU STATE OVER
net1 phys 1500 up --
net2 phys 1500 up --
net3 phys 1500 up --
vboxnet0 phys 1500 up --
net0 phys 1500 up --
vboxvnic0 vnic 1500 up net3
vboxvnic1 vnic 1500 up net0
vboxvnic2 vnic 1500 up net1

# ipadm
NAME CLASS/TYPE STATE UNDER ADDR
lo0 loopback ok -- --
lo0/v4 static ok -- 127.0.0.1/8
lo0/v6 static ok -- ::1/128
net2 ip ok -- --
net2/v4 static ok -- 132.230.153.100/24
net2/v6 addrconf ok -- fe80::e2db:55ff:fe09:1894/10

ping, ssh, ... is working as expected.


If I shutdown dladm says:

# dladm
LINK CLASS MTU STATE OVER
net1 phys 1500 up --
net2 phys 1500 up --
net3 phys 1500 up --
vboxnet0 phys 1500 up --
net0 phys 1500 up --

If I start VMs again, it looks like this

# dladm
LINK CLASS MTU STATE OVER
net1 phys 1500 up --
net2 phys 1500 up --
net3 phys 1500 up --
vboxnet0 phys 1500 up --
net0 phys 1500 up --
vboxvnic3 vnic 1500 up net3
vboxvnic4 vnic 1500 up net0
vboxvnic5 vnic 1500 up net1

but i can't ping, ssh, ... to any VM and if I log in any VM using VM VirtualBoxManager
everything in VM output of ethernet addess, inet address, ... is ok but eth0 in not "up"
and therefore I have no network connection. After Rebooting the server with every netx-Link
being in state "unknown" starting VMs again works well.

Questions (in easy words :) :

- is there a possibility to put netx-Links in state "unknown" or "down" 'cause it seems to me
that starting a VM with netx_link in state "up" doesn't work?

- on the other hand is it possible to "bind" a netx-Link to vboxnicx (that's the second difference
I see, that starting VMs once again vboxnicx are incremented)

- do I have to configure netx-Links with "ipadm create-ip netx"?

Regards

Wolfgang
WolfgangPaulat
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 13. Feb 2013, 19:02

Re: Solaris11.1 networking

Postby WolfgangPaulat » 14. Feb 2013, 16:32

WolfgangPaulat wrote:
susu.exp wrote:
Questions (in easy words :) :

- is there a possibility to put netx-Links in state "unknown" or "down" 'cause it seems to me
that starting a VM with netx_link in state "up" doesn't work?

- on the other hand is it possible to "bind" a netx-Link to vboxnicx (that's the second difference
I see, that starting VMs once again vboxnicx are incremented)

- do I have to configure netx-Links with "ipadm create-ip netx"?



Problem solved: seem to be a bug in VirtualBox when it dynamically create vnics!

I create in Solaris 11.1 3 vnics:

dladm create-vnic -l net0 vnic1
dladm create-vnic -l net1 vnic2
dladm create-vnic -l net3 vnic3

In VirtualBox I use "Bridged Networking" and in network configuration choose vnicx instead of netx,
in advanced options I put the mac-address of the corresponding vnic which is shown using

dladm show-vnic

I will summarize how using Solaris11.1, VirtualBox and Crossbow in a new thread next week

Wolfgang



WolfgangPaulat
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 13. Feb 2013, 19:02


Return to VirtualBox on Solaris Hosts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest