Solaris 11.3 + Virtualbox (current) vboxnet0 to MTU 9000 - won't work?

Discussions related to using VirtualBox on Solaris hosts.
Post Reply
zebra
Posts: 14
Joined: 8. Dec 2008, 23:38

Solaris 11.3 + Virtualbox (current) vboxnet0 to MTU 9000 - won't work?

Post by zebra »

Hi.

Try as I might, I cannot manage to change the linkprop (mtu) of the vboxnet0 NIC on Solaris 11.3 (x86, current updates) to 9000.

Code: Select all

root@foo:/export/home/zebra# dladm set-linkprop -t -p mtu=9000 vboxnet0
dladm: warning: cannot set link property 'mtu' on 'vboxnet0': operation not supported
Does this virtualNic, as presented to the host OS not actually support an MTU of 9000, or am I missing something? Also tried via old, silly methods like ifconfig vboxnet0 mtu 9000 up and still not allowed.

Trying to get MTU 9000 clean, all the way out of inside my guest VM's, out of the Solaris 11.3 box (who's real physical NIC is set to MTU9000) to my LAN etc...

Thanks.

z
Ramshankar
Oracle Corporation
Posts: 793
Joined: 7. Jan 2008, 16:17

Re: Solaris 11.3 + Virtualbox (current) vboxnet0 to MTU 9000 - won't work?

Post by Ramshankar »

The Solaris virtualbox network adapter code currently has a hardcoded restriction on the MTU size to 1500 bytes (https://www.virtualbox.org/browser/vbox ... ris.c#L323 , https://www.virtualbox.org/browser/vbox ... rnal.h#L36):

Code: Select all

pMacInfo->gldm_maxpkt = VBOXNETADP_MTU;

Code: Select all

#define VBOXNETADP_MTU             1500
I could bump up the size to maximum jumbo frame sizes (9000 bytes) but I won't have time to test this any time soon. I can provide a test-build with the updated max. MTU size here sometime later this week and feedback on whether it works would be appreciated. Thanks.
Oracle Corp.
zebra
Posts: 14
Joined: 8. Dec 2008, 23:38

Re: Solaris 11.3 + Virtualbox (current) vboxnet0 to MTU 9000 - won't work?

Post by zebra »

That would be wonderful if you could. Most appreciated, indeed.

I'll absolutely provide feedback if you can provide a build for me.

Glad someone is still looking after Solaris for us...given the recent...ugliness!

Regards,

z
Ramshankar
Oracle Corporation
Posts: 793
Joined: 7. Jan 2008, 16:17

Re: Solaris 11.3 + Virtualbox (current) vboxnet0 to MTU 9000 - won't work?

Post by Ramshankar »

Here's a link to the testbuild: https://www.virtualbox.org/download/tes ... nOS.tar.gz

I believe the link automatically expires in about 14 days.
Oracle Corp.
zebra
Posts: 14
Joined: 8. Dec 2008, 23:38

Re: Solaris 11.3 + Virtualbox (current) vboxnet0 to MTU 9000 - won't work?

Post by zebra »

Up and running. Working so far with MTU9000 on the guests inside it.

On the host itself:

Code: Select all

vboxnet0: flags=100201000843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST,IPv4,CoS,PHYSRUNNING> mtu 9706 index 4
        inet 192.168.56.1 netmask ffffff00 broadcast 192.168.56.255
Last edited by socratis on 10. Oct 2017, 14:22, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed unnecessary verbatim quote of the whole previous message.
Ramshankar
Oracle Corporation
Posts: 793
Joined: 7. Jan 2008, 16:17

Re: Solaris 11.3 + Virtualbox (current) vboxnet0 to MTU 9000 - won't work?

Post by Ramshankar »

Thanks for the feedback. The change has been committed and will be part of the next VirtualBox 5.1.x version.
Oracle Corp.
Post Reply