Change file in VDI without starting it.

Discussions related to using the OSE version of VirtualBox.
Monty

Change file in VDI without starting it.

Post by Monty »

Suppose, you got a instance running Windows XP, and there is a file called image.png in the C:\users\Monty\Documents path.
Is it possible to change the file image.png to another file, without VirtualBox?

I want to start a project and I want to create customizable VDI's of an existing VDI.

This is my first time working with VirtualBox as a developer, so I am not "advanced" in this ;)
noteirak
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: OSE Debian
Guest OSses: Debian, Win 2k8, Win 7

Re: Change file in VDI without starting it.

Post by noteirak »

Moved to "VirtualBox OSE".

What you are trying to accomplish can be done using the VDI header files and looking into VirtualBox source code.
There are also projects that already do that so you could inspire from them.
Search a bit in this specific forum, you should be able to find them.
Hyperbox - Virtual Infrastructure Manager - https://apps.kamax.lu/hyperbox/
Manage your VirtualBox infrastructure the free way!
socratis
Site Moderator
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Post by socratis »

What you want to do is to mount the VDI file as another disk in your OS (what is your OS?). You should be searching for "mount VDI". There is a project called "vdfuse" that works with FUSE. It's quite old (3 years as of this writing), but I don't believe that the VDI format has changed in the meantime (actually I would bet that it hasn't).

Take a look also at a really old, but still relevant discussion: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=21628

I would simply launch the VM, make the changes and be done with it...
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.