Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Discussions related to using the OSE version of VirtualBox.

Re: Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Postby johnbob » 3. Nov 2011, 10:46

Hello everyone,

I got the exact same problem as awilson, wiith a very similar log trace.
I try to run a build version of Vbox OSE 4.0.8 (with VC2010), and it fails after boot, whatever the guest OS is. I can see the boot screen (NTLDR or any other) and then I got a guru meditation error when the screen resizes.

Could anyone has met the same error and come with a solution to it ?

Here is the log:
toto-2011-11-03-00-57-32.zip
Log file
(23.02 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
johnbob
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 24. Oct 2011, 16:20
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: Windows XP

Re: Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Postby mhanor » 3. Nov 2011, 16:45

If it's VERR_TRPM_DONT_PANIC, enable hardware virtualization and try again. Your machine must have support for this feature.
mhanor
Volunteer
 
Posts: 317
Joined: 7. Oct 2009, 12:40
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: various

Re: Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Postby johnbob » 4. Nov 2011, 10:00

I tried that but It doesn't resolve it. (btw, the Oracle version works fine on the same machine) I am trying to find if it cvomes from a bad build or a configuration error.
johnbob
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 24. Oct 2011, 16:20
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: Windows XP

Re: Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Postby mhanor » 4. Nov 2011, 13:17

You're building from SVN, right? The official release is not build from SVN. Attach a log with VT-x enabled.
mhanor
Volunteer
 
Posts: 317
Joined: 7. Oct 2009, 12:40
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: various

Re: Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Postby johnbob » 4. Nov 2011, 14:49

Actually I built v4.0.8 OSE 32 bits (svn) on winXP and I want to run it on winPE (with a P4, 1Go RAM)

EDIT: I did not find a VT-x option in the BIOS and I don't see how it might be the problem. If another version runs nicely, why is this one always failing??!


log extract:
Code: Select all   Expand viewCollapse view
00:00:09.021 PIT: mode=2 count=0x2ead (11949) - 99.85 Hz (ch=0)
00:00:09.336 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
00:00:09.336 !!
00:00:09.336 !!                 Guru Meditation -2403 (VERR_TRPM_DONT_PANIC)
00:00:09.337 !!
00:00:09.337 !! TRAP=0e ERRCD=0000000000000009 CR2=00000000f0e84000 EIP=f0e2a7de Type=0
00:00:09.338 !! EIP in VBoxDDGC.gc (f0e27000) at rva 37de near symbols:
00:00:09.338 !!    f0e2a120 rva 00003120 off 000006be  vgaIOPortReadVBEIndex
00:00:09.338 !!    f0e2a8f0 rva 000038f0 off -00000112 vgaMMIOFill
00:00:09.338 !! fff8:f0e2a7de 23 08                   and ecx, dword [eax]
00:00:09.338 !!
00:00:09.338 !!
00:00:09.338 !!
00:00:09.338 Hypervisor CPUM state: se
00:00:09.339 .eax=f0e84000 .ebx=00002000 .ecx=00000000 .edx=f0e7c000 .esi=f0e45080 .edi=00000000
00:00:09.339 .eip=f0e2a7de .esp=f095ec80 .ebp=f095ecbc .iopl=0        rf nv up di pl zr na po nc
00:00:09.339 .cs={fff8 base=0000000000000000 limit=00000000 flags=00000000} .dr0=00000000 .dr1=00000000
00:00:09.339 .ds={fff0 base=0000000000000000 limit=00000000 flags=00000000} .dr2=00000000 .dr3=00000000
00:00:09.339 .es={fff0 base=0000000000000000 limit=00000000 flags=00000000} .dr4=00000000 .dr5=00000000
00:00:09.339 .fs={0000 base=0000000000000000 limit=00000000 flags=00000000} .dr6=00000000 .dr7=00000000
00:00:09.339 .gs={0000 base=0000000000000000 limit=00000000 flags=00000000} .cr0=00000000 .cr2=00000000
00:00:09.339 .ss={fff0 base=0000000000000000 limit=00000000 flags=00000000} .cr3=3eb10000 .cr4=00000000
00:00:09.339 .gdtr=00000000f0ba9000:ffff  .idtr=00000000f0806bd0:07ff  .eflags=00010006
00:00:09.339 .ldtr={0000 base=00000000 limit=00000000 flags=00000000}
00:00:09.339 .tr  ={ffe0 base=00000000 limit=00000000 flags=00000000}
00:00:09.339 .SysEnter={cs=0000 eip=00000000 esp=00000000}
...


complete log:
VBox.zip
Complete log
(30.36 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
johnbob
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 24. Oct 2011, 16:20
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: Windows XP

Re: Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Postby johnbob » 8. Nov 2011, 18:04

hi again

There is definitely a problem with my configuration, I tried different versions (4.1.4, 4.0.8, 4.0.14, and a 3.00 not self built-- from OSEBox project http://code.google.com/p/osebox/) and all of them raise a guru meditation error after the bootloader . (VERR_TRPM_DONT_PANIC for the 4.x.x and VERR_REM_TOO_MANY_TRAPS). I need to run it in WidowsPE, did anyone ever manage to get an OSE version to work properly under this environment ??

EDIT:
I finally got it working !, I used the binaries from this project : http://code.google.com/p/vbox-ose/ in v4.1.2.

My only remaining problem now is the non-recognition of the network card (VERR_SUPDRV_COMPONENT_NOT_FOUND), but It's probably little to do with VirtualBox (maybe a driver not correctly installed).
johnbob
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 24. Oct 2011, 16:20
Primary OS: MS Windows XP
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: Windows XP

Re: Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Postby devHive » 26. Jul 2014, 00:31

Hi... Sorry but I'm a little lost in the section:
Building SDL, there you describe what is needed to be done, but I can't figure it out what am I supposed to do with his:
Extract the SDL-1.2.14\VisualC.zip file, open&convert the SDL.sln file.
From the toolbar, change the Solution Configuration from Debug to Release.
Go to SDL project property pages, Linker -> General and select Additional Library Directories, add C:\Program Files\Microsoft DirectX SDK (February 2010)\Lib\x86
Build the solution
Create a SDL-1.2.14\lib folder. Copy the SDL.dll SDL.lib and SDLmain.lib files to the SDL-1.2.14\lib folder

So, since I didn't understand I try to run the
cscript configure.vbs
command, but It's giving me the next error:
error: Can't locate libSDL. Please consult the configure.log and the build requirements

I have tried specifying the path with
cscript configure.vbs --with-libSDL=C:\SDL-1.2.15\

and gives me the same error so then I try pointing to any subfolder inside C:\SDL-1.2.15\ and it's the same output...
I think it's because I fail to apply the Building SDL section...
Can some one tell me what I have to do to fix this issue please?
Thanks.
devHive
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 26. Jul 2014, 00:10
Primary OS: MS Windows 7
VBox Version: OSE self-compiled
Guest OSses: MS Windows 8.1, MS Windows XP, Ubuntu, CentOS

Re: Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Postby mhanor » 26. Jul 2014, 10:13

First of all, you can use the newer SDL 1.2.15. Secondly, you have to build SDL (lib+dll), move the lib and dll files, then you can run the VirtualBox configure script.
So, you need to open the SDL-1.2.15\VisualC\SDL.sln with Virtual Studio and build it.
mhanor
Volunteer
 
Posts: 317
Joined: 7. Oct 2009, 12:40
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: various

Re: Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Postby Nitrous » 21. Jan 2015, 08:33

I am trying to build VBOX on Windows 8.1. After compiling for a while it gives error
openss/md5.h: No such file or directory.

If anyone has encountered such a problem and was able to get through please let me know. I have been trying to build VBOX for a few days now and I always get stuck at this same error. VboxRTDEFS.cpp is the file demanding openssl/md5.h
Nitrous
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 21. Jan 2015, 08:29

Re: Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Postby Nitrous » 21. Jan 2015, 08:49

I am trying to build VBOX on Windows 8.1. After compiling for a while it gives error
openss/md5.h: No such file or directory.

If anyone has encountered such a problem and was able to get through please let me know. I have been trying to build VBOX for a few days now and I always get stuck at this same error. VboxRTDEFS.cpp is the file demanding openssl/md5.h
Nitrous
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 21. Jan 2015, 08:29

Re: Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Postby mhanor » 21. Jan 2015, 11:09

What version of VirtualBox are you trying to compile? Are you compiling for 32 or 64 bits?
Check the content of AutoConfig.kmk, SDK_VBOX_OPENSSL_INCS should point to a valid OpenSSL include path, example: C:/work_x64/openssl-1.0.1/include
mhanor
Volunteer
 
Posts: 317
Joined: 7. Oct 2009, 12:40
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: various

Re: Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Postby Nitrous » 21. Jan 2015, 11:26

I am compiling for 64 bit..Virtual box 4.3 revision number 53377..
Yes SDK_VBOX_OPENSSL_INCS.amd64 points to correct openssl path. I already verified that.Although if I add:

VBoxRT_INCS += E:\HelperTools\amd64\OpenSSL\include

in Makefile present in E:\VBOX_LATEST\src\VBox\Runtime it points to curl headers missing and does not point to openssl error anymore. Path for openssl is not being detected properly but I do not know how to rectify that.
Nitrous
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 21. Jan 2015, 08:29

Re: Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Postby mhanor » 21. Jan 2015, 12:19

I'm not sure what version is that, 53377. Are you building from SVN? Do you really need to build from SVN? I haven't build from SVN sources in a while and there have been heavy modifications to it. The SVN sources can introduce new issues, when building. I would suggest you stick to the 4.3.20 sources.
mhanor
Volunteer
 
Posts: 317
Joined: 7. Oct 2009, 12:40
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: various

Re: Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Postby Nitrous » 21. Jan 2015, 12:36

Yes, I am using svn build only. Ok then I will download 4.3.20. Actually I was not sure if 4.3.20 would be stable already so I started with 53377 which was updated a few months ago. Anyways I will start compiling today and get back to you.Thank You for now.
Nitrous
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 21. Jan 2015, 08:29

Re: Building VirtualBox OSE 32 bit (SVN) with VS2010

Postby Nitrous » 21. Jan 2015, 12:47

Just to make sure. You are asking me to get the source from virtual box homepage
by clicking the Source code..Right??
Nitrous
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 21. Jan 2015, 08:29

PreviousNext

Return to VirtualBox OSE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests