Can't find qt on Mac OS X?

Discussions related to using the OSE version of VirtualBox.

Can't find qt on Mac OS X?

Postby cmason » 30. Nov 2008, 21:09

I'm trying to build on the latest Leopard and get this:

./configure --disable-hardening
Checking for environment: Determined build machine: darwin.x86, target machine: darwin.x86, OK.
Checking for kBuild: found, OK.
Checking for gcc: found version 4.0.1, OK.
Checking for libIDL: found version 0.8.11, OK.
Checking for SDL: found version 1.2.13, OK.
Checking for X libraries: found, OK.
Checking for Xcursor: found, OK.
Checking for Qt4:
** Qt4 framework not found (can be disable using --disable-qt4)!


Yet, I have installed the qt4-mac package from macports and it has indeed installed the qt4 framework.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Last edited by cmason on 1. Dec 2008, 18:08, edited 1 time in total.
cmason
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 25. Nov 2008, 18:34

Postby Sasquatch » 30. Nov 2008, 22:59

Did you also install the development packages for Qt? When you compile sources, you often need the -dev package when it mentions a certain package.
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Postby cmason » 30. Nov 2008, 23:06

Sasquatch wrote:Did you also install the development packages for Qt? When you compile sources, you often need the -dev package when it mentions a certain package.


Hi,

Yes, that's a common Debian situation. But macports doesn't seem to follow this. Viewing the package contents shows lots of headers and libraries/frameworks. It appears to be fully installed. I think there is an autoconf issue here maybe.

Thanks.
cmason
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 25. Nov 2008, 18:34

Postby cmason » 30. Nov 2008, 23:08

Note that I'm trying to follow the directions from here:

http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Mac%20OS ... structions

It looks like it detects everything except for qt.
cmason
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 25. Nov 2008, 18:34

Postby Sasquatch » 1. Dec 2008, 00:37

According to the instructions, you have to disable it if it isn't found:
Qt/Mac 4.3.x or 4.4.x.
Add --disable-qt as argument to configure if missing.
Read the Forum Posting Guide before opening a topic.
VirtualBox FAQ: Check this before asking questions.
Online User Manual: A must read if you want to know what we're talking about.
Howto: Install Linux Guest Additions
Howto: Use Shared Folders on Linux Guest
See the Tutorials and FAQ section at the top of the Forum for more guides.
Try searching the forums first with Google and add the site filter for this forum.
E.g. install guest additions site:forums.virtualbox.org

Retired from this Forum since OSSO introduction.
Sasquatch
Volunteer
 
Posts: 17800
Joined: 17. Mar 2008, 13:41
Location: /dev/random
Primary OS: Debian other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows XP, Windows 7, Linux

Postby cmason » 1. Dec 2008, 00:42

Sasquatch wrote:According to the instructions, you have to disable it if it isn't found:
Qt/Mac 4.3.x or 4.4.x.
Add --disable-qt as argument to configure if missing.


Right, but it mentioned macports at the top, so I thought all the software was supposed to be installed via macports, not manually. Are you saying qt has to be installed manually and that the macport install isn't good enough?

In this case does the port need to be fixed, or is it the virtual box source that needs to be fixed? Putting --disable-qt, I assume disables the x11 qt, but the carbon qt is still being installed anyway, so why is that necessary? Also there's a separate port called qt4-x11 which does the X11, but also another called qt4-mac, which is for Aqua. That's what I installed and seems like it's the right thing for such a project, no?

Sorry, confused a bit here.
cmason
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 25. Nov 2008, 18:34

Re: Can't find qt on Mac OS X?

Postby wonsange » 11. Jul 2014, 06:45

I had same issue.
So, I use the configure option.

./configure --with-qt-dir=/opt/local/Library
wonsange
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 4. Jul 2014, 10:20


Return to VirtualBox OSE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests