Transferring from VMWare

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
Ken S
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: MS Windows 10

Transferring from VMWare

Post by Ken S »

Hello everyone

I have been using VMWare Workstation and VMPlayer for many years and recently had some problems when VMTools upgraded and am looking around for a replacement.

I am now just a hobby programmer, Delphi.

How does VirtualBox compare with say VMPlayer?

Can I import my VMPlayer VMs in to VBox?

Does VBox support multi screens?

Does VBox support drag and drop files from/to Guest Host?

Can I install and test VBox without having to uninstall VMPlayer?

Thanks for any help

Ken
mpack
Site Moderator
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Transferring from VMWare

Post by mpack »

Ken S wrote: How does VirtualBox compare with say VMPlayer?
I'm not an expert in VMPlayer. From what I've seen of it, VMPlayer is more polished, but not in any aspect that interests me.
Ken S wrote: Can I import my VMPlayer VMs in to VBox?
Sure, if you first export them from VMPlayer. That means you can import them: it doesn't mean that they'll definitely run. V2V is not guaranteed to be problem free any more than P2V, but like P2V the problems are usually fixable. Windows VMs will want to be reactivated.
Ken S wrote: Does VBox support multi screens?
Of course.
Ken S wrote: Does VBox support drag and drop files from/to Guest Host?
Kinda. Frankly the support is buggy. Copying via a shared folder is much more reliable. Either way you have to install the Guest Additions (the equivalent of VMWare "Guest Tools").
Ken S wrote: Can I install and test VBox without having to uninstall VMPlayer?
Sure, just don't try to run both at the same time: they'll conflict.