[Solved] Struggling beginner with VirtualBox and networking

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
CryingNewby

[Solved] Struggling beginner with VirtualBox and networking

Post by CryingNewby »

Hello Im starting with a little sorry for my bad english Im not a native
You can skip this:
Story short about me: I'm a web design student who have a final year project about networking/virtualisation , I have to set up a dell poweredge server (done) and install a system (host) on it I choosed CentOs, and now I have to run some vms using VirtualBox, ( I choosed virtualBox by heart ) and what make it even harder is that I have never used Linux ( great combo of madness )
Problem

Im having accees to a public Ip adress set by my teacher to be able to connect to the server, I have root privilege.
I hate this terminal thing but can't be lying it's kinda cool (Im a GUI fanatic since born) .
Now I have imported the vm (open edx by bitnami) and changed the Nic adapter interface ( I was following a tutorial) and when I run the vm now it's not working saying

Code: Select all

Error: failed to start machine. Error message: Nonexistent host networking interface, name 'msk1' (VERR_INTERNAL_ERROR)
It was working before I changed it to this msk1 , ( So why you did ? ) because I thoughet it wasn't working when I started the vm I don't know how can I log to the vm terminal
How can I set back the default one that was in the default vm config please?
By the way, I wish there was a tutorial for total newbies like me
And sorry if this is the wrong thread to ask Im kinda confused and stressed
Last edited by CryingNewby on 3. May 2020, 16:08, edited 1 time in total.
scottgus1
Site Moderator
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Windows, Linux

Re: Struggling beginner with VirtualBox and networking

Post by scottgus1 »

CryingNewby wrote:It was working before I changed it to this msk1
How did you change to 'msk1'?

Based on googling the error: