Install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox.

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

Install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox.

Postby hack3rcon » 10. Jul 2019, 15:04

Hello.
Is it possible to install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox? Can it work properly? Any special options must be selected?

Thank you.
hack3rcon
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 28. Feb 2016, 10:44

Re: Install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox.

Postby scottgus1 » 10. Jul 2019, 15:07

Would be interesting to hear your results!
Virtualbox 6.0.0 is now able to pass the VT-x bit through to the guest, so it might work. So far it only works on AMD CPUs and there may be prerequisites in the host OS, I think. See here: Nested virtualization, VT-x/AMD-V in the guest: Success stories (and failures)
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
 
Posts: 4083
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox.

Postby hack3rcon » 10. Jul 2019, 18:21

Oh, why just AMD?
Last edited by socratis on 10. Jul 2019, 18:50, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed unnecessary verbatim quote of the whole previous message.
hack3rcon
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 28. Feb 2016, 10:44

Re: Install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox.

Postby scottgus1 » 10. Jul 2019, 18:23

Seems only AMD's allow passing the VT-xAMD/V through a hypervisor into a guest OS for something else in the guest to use. Intels can't do it yet.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
 
Posts: 4083
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox.

Postby hack3rcon » 10. Jul 2019, 18:28

Thus, servers with Intel CPU that running Xen or Oracle VM server, can't offer "Nested Virtualization" feature?
Last edited by socratis on 10. Jul 2019, 18:50, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed unnecessary verbatim quote of the whole previous message.
hack3rcon
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 28. Feb 2016, 10:44

Re: Install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox.

Postby socratis » 10. Jul 2019, 18:51

Not yet. AMD makes it much easier to do this and the developers managed to get that feature working on AMDs much faster compared to Intels, which require a lot more of work to get it going.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 24778
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox.

Postby hack3rcon » 12. Jul 2019, 12:32

Than you for your info. I guess Xen can do it with Intel:https://wiki.xenproject.org/wiki/Nested_Virtualization_in_Xen.
In your opinion, can I have any chance to install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox?
Last edited by socratis on 12. Jul 2019, 13:39, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed unnecessary verbatim quote of the whole previous message.
hack3rcon
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 28. Feb 2016, 10:44

Re: Install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox.

Postby scottgus1 » 12. Jul 2019, 13:39

Haven't the foggiest. Costs nothing but time to try if the hypervisor is free.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
 
Posts: 4083
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox.

Postby socratis » 12. Jul 2019, 13:41

hack3rcon wrote:In your opinion, can I have any chance to install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox?

Not really... not yet...
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 24778
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox.

Postby hack3rcon » 14. Jul 2019, 18:29

What is the VirtualBox Virtualization engine? I guess Microsoft Hyper-V derived from Xen hyperbisor.
hack3rcon
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 28. Feb 2016, 10:44

Re: Install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox.

Postby socratis » 14. Jul 2019, 22:37

hack3rcon wrote:What is the VirtualBox Virtualization engine?
VirtualBox. It is its own virtualization engine.

hack3rcon wrote:I guess Microsoft Hyper-V derived from Xen hyperbisor
Where did that guess come from? When VirtualBox was out there as a virtualization solution, neither Hyper-V nor Xen existed, AFAIK.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
socratis
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 24778
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Location: Greece
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5

Re: Install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox.

Postby hack3rcon » 15. Jul 2019, 09:30

VirtualBox released by "Innotek GmbH" in 2007. The Xen Hypervisor is for 2003.
Microsoft Hyper-V inspired from Xen because:
1- It is free.
2- https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/publication/xen-and-the-art-of-virtualization/
Last edited by socratis on 15. Jul 2019, 11:12, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed unnecessary verbatim quote of the whole previous message.
hack3rcon
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 28. Feb 2016, 10:44

Re: Install a type-1 hypervisor in VirtualBox.

Postby mpack » 15. Jul 2019, 10:27

? You have linked to a Microsoft site which is hosting that paper from a symposium which I guess Microsoft probably hosted/funded? However I see no evidence that it was a Microsoft paper or that it inspired anything. The first name on the paper, Paul Barham, seems to have more links to Google than to Microsoft.

The VirtualBox hypervisor engine was originally developed by Innotek, with some device simulations and BIOS from the QEMU project. Later Innotek was sold to Sun Microsystems who were in turn sold to Oracle some years later. Innotek were also at the heart of VirtualPC. Hyper-v is closed source, so I have no idea what if anything remains of VirtualPC in there.

I'd also point out that Microsoft are unlikely to be attracted to a project because it is free. They are attracted to projects which can allow them to control a gateway technology, which they can then license to others. They can't do that if the base code is open source.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 29590
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests