Error VT-x/AMDV

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.

Error VT-x/AMDV

Postby geekmodeon » 9. Jul 2019, 14:44

Hello Everyone,

I installed Virtualbox 6.0 on ubuntu 19.04 and I'd like to create a VM windows 8.1. This to use as a testing VM.
Once I've set everything up, when I hit the start button I get an error please see below:

VT-x/AMDV hardware acceleration is not available on your system

I've read that it has something to do with CPU, I can't change the CPU and I don't know how to solve this.
Anyone knows how to solve the problem? :(

Kind Regards,
geekmodeon
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 8. Jul 2019, 01:53

Re: Error VT-x/AMDV

Postby scottgus1 » 9. Jul 2019, 14:49

VT-x / AMD-V are virtualization extensions that have to be built into the CPU and the computer's BIOS. And the BIOS setting for VT-x / AMD-V needs to be turned on. VT-x is the name for this setting on Intel CPU computers, and AMD/V is the name on AMD CPU computers.

Find out what CPU your computer has and check on its manufacturer's website if it has VT-x or AMD-V. You will have to check with your motherboard instructions to see if your BIOS has this setting and what the BIOS calls it.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4934
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Error VT-x/AMDV

Postby mpack » 9. Jul 2019, 14:56

Though not directly on point, the following FAQ deals with another symptom of the same problem, and the solutions are the same.
FAQ: I have a 64bit host, but can't install 64bit guests.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 30055
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP

Re: Error VT-x/AMDV

Postby geekmodeon » 9. Jul 2019, 15:00

Aah I've checked this laptop, I see there's no VT-x so I guess that's why it's not working?
Attachments
Screenshot_2019-07-09 Product data Sony VAIO VGN-CS21S P Pink 14 1 1280 x 800 pixels Intel® Core™2 Duo T6400 4 GB DDR2-SDRA[...].png
no VT-x
Screenshot_2019-07-09 Product data Sony VAIO VGN-CS21S P Pink 14 1 1280 x 800 pixels Intel® Core™2 Duo T6400 4 GB DDR2-SDRA[...].png (9.86 KiB) Viewed 472 times
geekmodeon
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 8. Jul 2019, 01:53

Re: Error VT-x/AMDV

Postby scottgus1 » 9. Jul 2019, 15:07

Yup! That Core-2 Duo has no VT-x, according to Intel. I'd say that laptop is a no-go for Virtualbox with a Windows 8.1 guest.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4934
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Error VT-x/AMDV

Postby geekmodeon » 9. Jul 2019, 16:20

Ok, well time for a new laptop pff haha
geekmodeon
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 8. Jul 2019, 01:53

Re: Error VT-x/AMDV

Postby scottgus1 » 9. Jul 2019, 16:22

Probably, yes. A new laptop will probably have Windows 10 on it, which recently has been hard on Virtualbox in 10's default configuration. Expect a bit of trouble when you get Virtualbox installed on it, but come on back to the forum, there are easy solutions.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4934
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Error VT-x/AMDV

Postby scottgus1 » 9. Jul 2019, 16:29

A laptop with a real four-core processor, like an Intel Core I5 with no hyperthreading*, and 16GB RAM would give you plenty of room for Virtualbox guests.

* Hyperthreading doesn't count for Virtualbox use. A 4-core hyperthreaded I7 is going to perform the same as a 4-core no-hyperthread I5, since Virtualbox doesn't use the hyperthreads.
Human government is like that crazy uncle who hides a quarter in his fist behind his back, then asks you to guess which fist the quarter is in...
No matter which side you choose, Left or Right, both Sides are empty.
scottgus1
Volunteer
 
Posts: 4934
Joined: 30. Dec 2009, 20:14
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win7

Re: Error VT-x/AMDV

Postby mpack » 9. Jul 2019, 17:21

You could also moderate your requirements. For example, it would be possible to install Win7-32bit, provided it's configured to use a single core. Can't say I'd recommend it though, as once you've gotten used to running your OS lag-free on multiple cores you wouldn't want to go back to single core. Which incidentally also means that a 2 core host was never going to give you a good experience of host OS + Win 8.1 VM.

Otherwise I agree with Scottgus, and I'd shop for a PC with an i7 4-core CPU. I'd go with 4 cores and 8 threads, not because threads are relevant to VirtualBox, but because I run other apps (e.g. Handbrake) which can use them.
mpack
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 30055
Joined: 4. Sep 2008, 17:09
Primary OS: MS Windows 10
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Mostly XP


Return to Using VirtualBox

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests