Unable to view debugger console from Debug menu->CommandLine

This is for discussing general topics about how to use VirtualBox.
Post Reply
sehgal
Posts: 4
Joined: 18. Jun 2019, 12:39

Unable to view debugger console from Debug menu->CommandLine

Post by sehgal »

I launch the virtual machine using the below methods:
Method1:
virtualbox --debug --startvm vm_name

Method2:
set VBOX_GUI_DBG_ENABLED=true
set VBOX_GUI_DBG_AUTO_SHOW=true
virtualbox --startvm vm_name

Using the both the methods, the virtual machine starts in paused state. But when i click on debug menu->CommandLine, i get nothing.
I resume the machine and let the machine boot up. Even after then Debug->CommandLine shows up nothing.
socratis
Site Moderator
Posts: 27330
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5
Location: Greece

Re: Unable to view debugger console from Debug menu->CommandLine

Post by socratis »

sehgal wrote:Using the both the methods, the virtual machine starts in paused state
I'm even surprised that it starts at all. You need to use the "VirtualBoxVM", not the "VirtualBox" one (unless you're not using VirtualBox > 6.0.0). The command line that you're looking for, should be:
  • 
    VirtualBoxVM --startvm "<YourVM>" --debug --start-running
"VirtualBoxVM -?" helps as well... ;)
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
sehgal
Posts: 4
Joined: 18. Jun 2019, 12:39

Re: Unable to view debugger console from Debug menu->CommandLine

Post by sehgal »

I am using 5.2. There is no virtualboxvm in installation directory.
Would upgrading to newer version help?
socratis
Site Moderator
Posts: 27330
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5
Location: Greece

Re: Unable to view debugger console from Debug menu->CommandLine

Post by socratis »

sehgal wrote:I am using 5.2.
No, you're not. Because there's no "5.2". There's 5.2.0, 5.2.2, ..., 5.2.30 (as of this moment). Please be precise when you're describing a problem, it's only going to help you in the long run... ;)
sehgal wrote:Would upgrading to newer version help?
Sure, why not? It would keep us in sync and I wouldn't have to upgrade/downgrade just to test what you're describing.
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
sehgal
Posts: 4
Joined: 18. Jun 2019, 12:39

Re: Unable to view debugger console from Debug menu->CommandLine

Post by sehgal »

I upgraded to 6.0.8. I can now see the debugger console.
I actually want to dump the physical memory for which i use the below:
.pgmphystofile c:\abc\def.dat

but i am hit with the below error:
Error: You hit a debugger feature which isn't implemented yet (argument 0).

Any help with this?
socratis
Site Moderator
Posts: 27330
Joined: 22. Oct 2010, 11:03
Primary OS: Mac OS X other
VBox Version: PUEL
Guest OSses: Win(*>98), Linux*, OSX>10.5
Location: Greece

Re: Unable to view debugger console from Debug menu->CommandLine

Post by socratis »

Why would you expect any further help, if the error says "Not implemented"? Are you thinking that there are hidden features that the developers are keeping away from public eyes and a "magical" switch could turn them on?

You could try to implement it, by providing the source code changes required... ;)
Do NOT send me Personal Messages (PMs) for troubleshooting, they are simply deleted.
Do NOT reply with the "QUOTE" button, please use the "POST REPLY", at the bottom of the form.
If you obfuscate any information requested, I will obfuscate my response. These are virtual UUIDs, not real ones.
sehgal
Posts: 4
Joined: 18. Jun 2019, 12:39

Re: Unable to view debugger console from Debug menu->CommandLine

Post by sehgal »

I think it is implemented since skipping the argument gives an error that an argument is required. Also help suggests possible arguments.
Post Reply