Page 1 of 1

HWID change

PostPosted: 15. Jun 2019, 15:06
by Martazz
Hello,
I know that virtualbox has it's own fake HWID. Is it possible to change it? Thanks for your advices.

Re: HWID change

PostPosted: 15. Jun 2019, 17:37
by mpack
A VM has many hardware IDs. Basically one for every bit of hardware present.

Yes, they can be changed within reason, but to what end? Most hardware IDs can't be changed arbitrarily, since all you'd do is stop the drivers working.

Re: HWID change

PostPosted: 16. Jun 2019, 11:36
by Martazz
I need it because of software, which is trial-time limited to HWID of computer. So it isn't so easy to change it?

Re: HWID change

PostPosted: 16. Jun 2019, 14:07
by mpack
Any modern trial based software which can't detect that it's running in a VM (regardless of HWIDs) doesn't deserve to exist. Believe me, you won't be the first person to try to turn their trial into a free permanent license.

But in direct answer to your question: in practice no, you can't make a VM match the hardware signature of a existing physical PC. The trial would have had to be installed into a VirtualBox VM in the first place, and even then the host CPU is visible to a VM.